CONSTRUCTO is based in Santiago de Chile and directed by architects Jeannette Plaut and Marcelo Sarovic. It is dedicated to managing, promoting, and disseminating Latin American architecture, design, and arts and the research of its contemporary points of convergence through the media of exhibitions, events, and publications. We aim to build bridges and networks between architectural/design professionals, building industries, clients, policy makers, and the interested public on a regional, national, and international level. As an independent organization, CONSTRUCTO is responsible for the content and financing of its own program. CONSTRUCTO is currently developing its new institutionalism, building new dependencies to host exhibitions, seminar and lectures areas and a bookshop to be opened in 2012.

For the first time in Chile, a program for young architects is being developed. This initiative, based on the Young Architects Program, is launched by CONSTRUCTO together with The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) and MoMA PS1. It is an active platform for creating new opportunities for talented Latin American emerging architects to think, explore, and improve the quality of collective-use spaces for live summer events, thinking on sustainability as a way to respond to a contemporary problem that requires intelligent and creative use of resources. In its first (2010) and second (2011) versions, it was oriented to young Chilean architects; in 2012 it expanded to Latin America.

View the CONSTRUCTO website


  • Jeannette Plaut, Director, YAP_Constructo
  • Marcelo Sarovic, Director, YAP_Constructo
  • Barry Bergdoll, Curator, Department of Architecture and Design, The Museum of Modern Art
  • Pedro Gadanho, Curator, Department of Architecture and Design, The Museum of Modern Art
  • Klaus Biesenbach, Director, MoMA PS1 and Chief Curator at Large, The Museum of Modern Art
  • Antonia Lehmann, Architect, National Architecture Award Winner
  • Luis Izquierdo, Architect, National Architecture Award Winner
  • Roberto Farriol, Director, Art School, P. Universidad Católica de Chile