The Museum of Modern Art

For Immediate Release

THREE ARCHITECTS NAMED AS FINALISTS FOR THE MUSEUM OF MODERN ART'S EXPANSION AND RENOVATION PROJECT

Herzog and de Meuron, Yoshio Taniguchi, and Bernard Tschumi Chosen from a Field of Ten

April 10, 1997 Sid R. Bass, Chairman of the Architect Selection Committee of The Museum of Modern Art, announced today that Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron (Basel), Yoshio Taniguchi (Tokyo), and Bernard Tschumi (New York) will participate in the next phase of the process to determine an architect for the Museum's expansion and renovation project. These architects were chosen from a field of ten who were invited to take part in a month-long charrette, or problem-solving design exercise, that began with a two-day workshop at the Museum and concluded when the architects returned recently to present their concepts. The charrette submissions were carefully reviewed over a two-week period by staff and Trustees, and the finalists were selected after extensive deliberations.

The three finalists will now engage in a competition leading to preliminary architectural designs for the new Museum. The final selection of an architect for the expansion and renovation project will be made in late 1997. "The new expansion and renovation will set a trajectory for the Museum far into the next century," said Mr. Bass. "Ultimately, we will appoint an architect who can bring dynamic and thoughtful leadership to the design process, as well as talent, ability, and promise."

David Rockefeller, Chairman Emeritus, said, "At no time since the Modern was founded has there been a better opportunity to create a bold and innovative building which will symbolize the Museum's leadership role in the art of the twenty-first century." Ronald S. Lauder, Chairman, added, "This is the most exciting moment since the Museum's founding in 1929, and it gives us a unique opportunity to build on Alfred Barr's commitment to the most adventuresome art and architecture of our time."

The search for an architect was spearheaded by the Museum's Architect Selection

Committee, which comprises Museum Trustees as well as Director Glenn D. Lowry. In addition
to the committee's Chairman, Sid Bass, the members of the Architect Selection Committee are

David Rockefeller; Ronald Lauder; Agnes Gund, President; Marshall S. Cogan (ex officio),

Chairman of the Committee on Architecture and Design; Jerry I. Speyer (ex officio), Chairman of
the Expansion Committee; and three Trustee advisors who are on the Committee on Architecture
and Design, Edward Larrabee Barnes, Philip Johnson, and Barbara Jakobson. Terence Riley,
Chief Curator, Department of Architecture and Design, and John Elderfield, Deputy Director for
Curatorial Affairs and Chief Curator at Large, serve as staff advisors.

"All of the architects chosen by the Museum's Trustees for the next stage of the competition demonstrated a remarkable sensitivity to art, a deep understanding of our mission, and a compelling vision of the future," said Mr. Lowry. "Each of the architects grows out of the rich tradition of modern architecture but has found a way to expand upon and enrich this tradition. The committee found Herzog and de Meuron's ideas provocative and thoughtful, reflecting a keen awareness of the evolving role of museum architecture in shaping the appreciation of art. Taniguchi's design concepts combined an elegance and clarity of conception

with a sensitivity to light and space. Tschumi's presentation showed a profound concern for curatorial issues and the Museum's mission, as well as an exciting reconception of the site."

"I was amazed that there were so many unique and inventive approaches and possible solutions presented by the ten architects," said Ms. Gund. "I was so impressed with the incredible efforts they put into it. I only wish we could use more of them."

The selection process has been extensive. Prior to choosing architects to participate in the charrette exercise, the committee undertook a comprehensive survey of contemporary architecture that involved twelve months of in-depth research, extensive consultations, and travel to more than thirty cities in North America, Europe, and Japan. As part of this process, leading artists, critics, architects, and museum directors from around the world, along with Museum Trustees and curators, participated in a three-day conference last fall to discuss the potential role of museums in contemporary society. The Museum also hosted a series of public lectures and symposia that explored a variety of philosophical issues that will guide the development of The Museum of Modern Art over the next century.

In addition to the three architects chosen for the next phase, the architects who were invited to participate in the design charrette were Wiel Arets (The Netherlands); Steven Holl (U.S.A.); Toyo Ito (Japan); Rem Koolhaas (The Netherlands); Dominique Perrault (France); Rafael Viñoly (U.S.A.); and Tod Williams and Billie Tsien (U.S.A.). The selection of these architects underscores the Museum's commitment to an international approach to modern art and architecture. The submissions of all ten architects for the charrette exercise, in the form of sketchbooks and other materials, will be on view in the Museum's Philip Johnson Gallery beginning in early May.

The project for the expansion and renovation project began in February 1996 with the Museum's acquisition of the Dorset Hotel and two adjacent brownstones for \$50 million. It is expected to take up to ten years. Over the past several months the architectural firm Cooper, Robertson Ltd., led by Alex Cooper, has been conducting an extensive needs analysis for the Museum. According to Mr. Riley, "This thorough study will inform the thinking of the architects as they move forward in the design process, allowing them to understand the richness and complexity of the Museum at this crucial point in its development."

#

No. 26

For media information, contact Liz Addison at 212/708-9593 or Alexandra Partow at 212/708-9756.