THE MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

11 WEST 53 STREET, NEW YORK 19, N. Y.

TELEPHONE: CIRCLE 5-8900

KORDA'S "CRY THE BELOVED COUNTRY"

WINS SELZNICK GOLDAN LAUREL AMARD

In a ceremony at the American Embassy in Paris, the American Ambassador to France, James Clement Dunn, today presented the David O. Selznick Golden Laurel Award to Zoltan Korda, director of "Cry, the Beloved Country," selected by the Golden Laurel Jury at the huseum of Modern Art as the film which "made the greatest contribution to mutual understanding and good will between the peoples of the free and democratic world" in 1952.

The London Films production, produced by Sir Alexander Korda and directed by Zoltan Korda, starred the late Canada Lee and is distributed in the United States by United Artists.

Silver Laurel Awards are presented to the producer or director of files chosen as winners in each of five linguistic groups, English, French, German, Italian and Scandinavian. An additional Silver Laurel Award is presented if a film of distinction is specially nominated, or is chosen from a country with another language.

Winners of this year's Silver Laurel awards were:

Britain: "Cry, the Beloved Country."

Germany: "Herz der Welt," produced by Neue Deutsche Filmesellschaft, Munich.

France: "Nous Sommes Tous des Assassins," directed by Andre Cayatte.

Italy: "Two Cents Worth of Hope," directed by Renato Castellani.

Belgium: "Le Banquet des Fraudeurs," directed by Henri Storck.

The Golden Laurel Jury, which selected "Cry, the Beloved Country" for the award in screenings held at the Museum of Modern Art Film Library during the past three weeks, includes: Dr. Ralph J. Bunche, Director of the Department of Trusteeship of the United Nations; Mr. Gardner Cowles, President of Cowles Magazines and Chairman of the Des Moines Relister-Tribune and the Minneapolis Star Tribune; Mr. Otto Harbach, President of the American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers; Mr. Rene d'Harnoncourt, Director of the Museum of Modern Art; Mr. Herbert Bayard Swope, former Executive Editor of the New York World; and Mr. James P. Warburg, economist, lecturer, and author.

The Colden Laurel Award and the Silver Laurel Awards, founded by David
O. Selznick in 1949, are offered annually and were presented at the international Film Festival in Venice 1950 and 1951 by the Hon. James Clement Dunn,

then American Ambassador to Italy. Their object is to "pay tribute to those Motion Pictures, produced in Europe, including Fritain, by Europeans during the preceding year, which have made the greatest contribution to mutual understanding and goodwill between the peoples of the free and democratic world. Any production, therefore, which reveals the way of life and character of the country of its origin, is favored."

In announcing the foundation of the Awards in 1949, Mr. Selznick said:
"The Motion Picture has long been recognized as the most universal and therefore potentially the most valuable medium for man's greater understanding of man. It knows no barrier of language, as do the Press and the Radio; its appeal is through both eye and ear; its goal, the hearts and minds of all mankind. Clearly, the Motion Picture can make an even greater contribution to that mutual understanding between men and nations which is a prerequisite of peace and of the preservation and advancement of the freedom of the individual. It is in this belief, and to serve this cause, that the Golden Laurel Award and Silver Laurel Awards are presented."

Films winning the Silver Laurel Awards are chosen by juries of film critics and trade press editors meeting in Milan, Paris, Berlin, London and Stockholm. The winners of the Silver Laurel Awards then automatically become contestants for the Golden Laurel Award, chosen by secret ballot at the Museum of Modern Art by the Jury listed above.

The first two Golden Laurel Award winners were both Italian films, in 1950, "Donna Senza Nome" ("Women Without Names"), and in 1951, "Il Cammino della Speranza" (Path of Hope"). 1950 Silver Award winners were: "Passport to Pimlico", Britain; "Vi Vil Ha'Et Barn" ("We Want A Child"), Denmark; "Retour & la vie" ("Return to Life"), France; "Nachtwache" ("Nightwatch"), Germany; and "Karleken Segrar" ("Love Conquers"), Sweden: 1951 Silver Laurel Award winners were: "Trio," Britain; "Justice Est Faite" ("Justice Is Done"), France; "Herrliche Zeiten" ("Wonderful Times"), Germany; "Medan Staden Sover" ("While the City Sleeps"), Sweden; and "Die Veer im Jeep" ("Four In A Jeep"), Switzerland.

Executive Secretary for the Golden Laurel and Silver Laurel Awards is Mr. Anthony Downing, 32/34 Great Marlborough Street, London W. 1, England.