THE MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

11 WEST 53RD STREET, NEW YORK 19, N. Y. FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

TELEPHONE: CIRCLE 5-8900

JOHN HAY WHITNEY SUCCEEDS STEPHEN C. CLARK AS CHAIRMAN

OF BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF MUSEUM OF MODERN ART.

NELSON A. ROCKEFELLER TO BE PRESIDENT OF MUSEUM.

The Museum of Modern Art announces the election of
John Hay Whitney to be Chairman of the Board of Trustees and of
Nelson A. Rockefeller to be President of the Museum. Stephen C.
Clark, Chairman of the Board during the war years, submitted his
resignation as Chairman at a meeting of the Board of Trustees held
today (Thursday, June 6) to enable him to devote himself to the
development and effective use of the Museum's collections. He was
elected chairman of the committee on acquisitions. He continues
as a Trustee of the Museum and as a member of its Executive Committee.

Mr. Whitney, in accepting the chairmanship of the Board in succession to Mr. Clark, said:

"Mr. Clark has been a great chairman of the Board of the Museum of Modern Art and his resignation was accepted with regret on the footing that he has carried the burden of administrative responsibility during the war years. He is now entitled to be relieved, as he wishes, of these responsibilities so that he may devote himself to his major interest, the development of the Museum's collections.

"During his chairmanship of the Board, the Museum membership was doubled and the attendance has risen to more than half a million annually. We all recognize our debt to him and are reconciled to his retirement as chairman of the Board only because we shall continue to have him with us in another major role. His devotion and energy, his extraordinary background of knowledge and of taste, have created at the Museum a spirit and a drive seldom enjoyed by any institution."

The following officers were elected:

Chairman of the Board
1st Vice-Chairman
2nd Vice-Chairman
3rd Vice-Chairman
President
Vice-President and Secretary
Vice-President in Charge of
Foreign Activities
Assistant Secretary
Treasurer
Assistant Treasurer

John Hay Whitney
Henry Allen Moe
Philip L. Goodwin
Sam A. Lewisohn
Nelson A. Rockefeller
John E. Abbott

René d'Harnoncourt Allen Porter Ranald H. Macdonald Ione Ulrich

Note: For further information, please call Mr. John E. Abbott, Plaza 8-1023