431111 - 59

#### MUSEUM OF MODERN ART THE

11 WEST 53RD STREET, NEW YORK 19, N. TOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

TELEPHONE: CIRCLE 5-8900

### MUSEUM OF MODERN ART ELECTS NEW TRUSTEES

Today (Thursday, November 11), after the annual joint meeting of the Board of Trustees and the Corporation Members of the Museum of Modern Art, Stephen C. Clark, Chairman of the Board, announced the election to the Board of the following Trustees:

> William A. M. Burden Walt Disney Henry Allen Moe Mrs. George Henry Warren, Jr. (See page 2 for biographical data)

The other Trustees are:

John E. Abbott Alfred H. Barr, Jr. Mrs. Robert Woods Bliss Stephen C. Clark
Mrs. W. Murray Crane
Marshall Field Philip L. Goodwin A. Conger Goodyear Mrs. Simon Guggenheim Mrs. David M. Levy Sam A. Lewisohn Henry R. Luce

Archibald MacLeish David H. McAlpin William S. Paley Mrs. John Parkinson, Jr. Mrs. Charles S. Payson Mrs. John D. Rockefeller, Jr. Beardsley Ruml James Thrall Soby Edward M. M. Warburg John Hay Whitney

Honorary Trustees for life are:

Frederic Clay Bartlett Frank Crowninshield Duncan Phillips Paul J. Sachs Mrs. John S. Sheppard

The Executive Committee of the Trustees, which directs the policies of the Museum, consists of:

Stephen C. Clark, Chairman Henry Allen Moe John E. Abbott Philip L. Goodwin A. Conger Goodyear Mrs. David M. Levy

Mrs. John D. Rockefeller, Jr. Beardsley Ruml James Thrall Soby

The Acquisitions Committee of the Museum consists of:

Stephen C. Clark, Chairman Alfred H. Barr, Jr. William A. M. Burden A. Conger Goodyear Mrs. Simon Guggenheim

Agnes Rindge James Thrall Soby James Johnson Sweeney Mrs. George Henry Warren, Jr.

The Advisory Committee of the Museum is composed of:

John E. Abbott Dr. M. F. Agha Alfred H. Barr, Jr. Francis Brennan Harry Bull Jean Charlot Charles Coiner Mrs. John Cole Marcel Duchamp Erwin Edman Mrs. William Averell Harriman

Marian Willard, Chairman Frances Hawkins Bartlett Hayes George Howe Sidney Janis Samuel Kootz Dorothy Liebes Mrs. Russell Lynes Sam Marx Virginia Murphy Artemas Packard

Agnes Rindge Edward G. Robinson Mrs. Charles H. Russell, Jr. Meyer Schapiro Mrs. Albert Lasker Dorothy Shaver
Arch Lauterer James Thrall Soby
Mrs. Sam A. Lewisohn James Johnson Sweeney Davidson Taylor Mrs. Edward M. M. Warburg Mrs. George H. Warren, Gordon Washburn Monroe Wheeler

## William A. M. Burden, New York and Washington

Special Assistant for Aviation to the Secretary of the United States Department of Commerce. Aviation expert and former official of National Aviation Corporation, Mr. Burden has been a member of the Museum's Advisory Committee and served as its Chairman for a term.

### Walt Disney, Hollywood.

Creator of Mickey Mouse and producer of the first sound-cartoon, which played an important part in the early development of sound films. In 1932 introduced color in series of Silly Symphony cartoons; in 1937 produced first feature-length cartoon, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, followed by Fantasia, Bambi, Saludos Amigos and Victory Through Airpower. The Disney studios today are producing a great number of educational and training films for government agencies and the armed services as well as conducting intensive research and experiment toward the production of instructional films in the future. Mr. Disney recently received the Order of the Southern Cross from the government of Brazil and the Order of the Aztec Eagle from the government of Mexico. He was one of the first sponsors of the Museum of Modern Art Film Library and one of the first to donate his films to its collection.

### Henry Allen Moe, New York

Mr. Moe has been Secretary-General of the Guggenheim Memorial Foundation since 1924. He is Trustee and Director of the Association of American Rhodes Scholars; a Trustee of the Oberlaemder Trust, Institute of Current World Affairs; a member of the American National Committee of League of Nations Committee on Intellectual Cooperation; and Chairman, Committee for Inter-American Artistic and Intellectual Relations of the Office of the Coordinator of Inter-American Affairs.

# Mrs. George Henry Warren, Jr., New York and Newport.

Mrs. Warren, a collector of modern art, has been a member of the Museum's Advisory Committee for ten years and served as its Chairman for a two-year term. She is co-Chairman of the Robinson House of the Army and Navy YMCA (USO) in Newport.