## The Museum of Modern Art

11 West 53 Street, New York, N.Y. 10019 Tel. 245-3200 Cable: Modernart

No. 46B May 27, 1968

A 16-member Advisory Board consisting of leading scholars and critics in all the 20th-century visual arts, drawn from universities, museums, and other institutions in various parts of the country, has been formed for The Lillie P. Bliss International Study Center of The Museum of Modern Art. The Center, dedicated on May 27 in honor of Miss Bliss, a founder of the Museum, occupies the former Whitney Museum building as well as areas in the Museum's main building.

Anne Coffin Hanson, who becomes Director of the Study Center September 1, and Bates Lowry, Director of the Museum (2005 July 1, 1968), are ex-officio members.

The members are:

William A. Camfield

Assistant Professor of Art, University of St. Thomas, Houston, Texas; has written widely on Cubism and is an authority on Picabia.

Robert Goldwater

Professor at the Institute of Fine Arts, New York University; Chairman, Administration Committee, Museum of Primitive Art; author of Primitivism in Modern Painting, and of essays on Rothko, Kline, and other modern painters.

George Heard Hamilton

Director, Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute, Williamstown, Mass.; former Chairman of the Department of the History of Art, Yale University; author of Manet and His Critics, Art and Architecture of Russia, Painting and Sculpture in Europe, 1880 to 1940, catalogue of the Societé Anonyme, Yale University Art Gallery, and many distinguished translations.

Robert L. Herbert

Chairman, Department of the History of Art, Yale University; guest director of the recent Neo-Impressionism exhibition at the Guggenheim Museum; guest director of Barbizon Revisited for the California Palace of the Legion of Honor; author of Seurat's Drawings; and editor of Modern Artists on Art.

Ada Louise Huxtable

Architecture critic for The New York Times; recipient of the Frank Jewett Mather Award for Art Criticism from the College Art Association in 1967; a member of the Board of Directors of the Municipal Art Society, New York City.

William Jordy

Professor of Art, Brown University; architectural historian; author of numerous articles for Architectural Review, Architectural Forum, and Architecture d'Aujourd'hui.

Standish W. Lawder

Assistant Professor of the History of Art, Yale University; gave the first course on the history of film at Yale last year and a 10-week seminar at The Museum of Modern Art.

Robert Motherwell

Painter; Benjamin Franklin Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts, London; editor (1942-52) of "Documents of Modern Art"; editor of forthcoming "Documents of 20th-Century Art," a series of 100 volumes to be published here and abroad; advisor to the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation, New York City.

Robert Rauschenberg

Artist; has been in the vanguard of relating painting and sculpture to modern dance, music, and the theater; a founder of Experiments in Art and Technology.

John Rewald

Professor of Art History, University of Chicago; author of definitive works on Impressionism and Post-Impressionism, and numerous catalogues.

Robert Rosenblum

Professor of Art History, New York University; author of Cubism and Twentieth-Century Art,
Transformations in Late Eighteenth-Century Art,
Ingres, and numerous critical essays.

Peter Selz

Director, University Art Museum, University of California, Berkeley, California; author of German Expressionist Painting, Understanding Modern Art, and catalogues for various Museum of Modern Art exhibitions which he directed, including Giacometti, Max Beckmann, and Art Nouveau.

Lawrence D. Steefel, Jr.

Chairman, Department of the History of Art, Washington University, St. Louis, Mo.; is writing a major book on Marcel Duchamp.

Joshua Taylor

Professor of Art, University of Chicago; special field is 19th- and 20th-century painting and sculpture, especially in Italy; author of Futurism, The Graphic Work of Umberto Boccioni, and Learning to Look.

Paul Vanderbilt

Curator, State Historical Society of Wisconsin; photographer; formerly Curator of Prints and Drawings at the Library of Congress; leading archivist of photography.

Robert Welsh

Professor of Art, University of Toronto; most recent publication is the catalogue for the Mondrian exhibition at the Art Gallery of Toronto.

Honorary members are:

Alfred H. Barr, Jr.

Meyer Schapiro

Henry-Russell Hitchcock

The first act of the Advisory Board was to name the honorary members. These internationally renowned scholars were among the first to accord modern art the serious consideration formerly reserved for the older arts, and whose teaching and writings have led generations to a deeper appreciation of modern art and laid the groundwork for making the study of modern art a recognized discipline all over the world: Alfred H. Barr, Jr., the first Director of The Museum of Modern Art, and, until his recent retirement, the Director of the Museum Collections, author of distinguished works on Picasso, Matisse, Cubism, abstract art; Meyer Schapiro, University Professor at Columbia University, authority in both medieval and modern art, author of books on Cézanne, van Gogh, numerous critical and historical essays, now giving the Slade lectures at Oxford University; and Henry-Russell Hitchcock, author of numerous definitive works, including (with Philip Johnson) the pioneering book on the International Style, published in connection with a Museum of Modern Art exhibition in 1932, monographs on Frank Lloyd Wright and H.H. Richardson, among others, and a major book on 19th- and 20th-century architecture.