he Museum of Modern Art

West 53 Street, New York, N.Y. 10019 Circle 5-8900 Cable: Modernart

No. 145 Tuesday, November 22, 1966 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

NEW CINEMA: AN INTERNATIONAL SELECTION January 9 - 20, 1967

<u>New Cinema:</u> An International Selection, eleven recent films from ten countries, will be shown at The Museum of Modern Art from January 9 through January 20, Willard Van Dyke, Director of the Museum's Department of Film, announced today. The program, originally proposed for December, was selected by the Museum in collaboration with the Committee for New Cinema and will include films from Brazil, Canada, France, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Sweden, the United States, West Germany and Yugoslavia.

A symposium on "What is New Cinema?" will be held at the Museum at the conclusion of the program on Friday evening, January 20.

Members of the three-year old International Committee for New Cinema proposed the formation of national committees at their meeting held at the Second International Film Festival in Pesaro, Italy, this summer. Adrienne Mancia, Curatorial Assistant of the Department of Film of The Museum of Modern Art, was selected as the United States representative for the International Committee and Chairman of the new National Committee, which was organized this fall.

Members of the National Committee are: Margareta Akermark, Associate Director, Department of Film, The Museum of Modern Art; Bruce Baillie, filmmaker; Arthur Barron, CBS; Louis Brigante, editor, <u>Film Culture</u>; Gary Carey, Curatorial Writer, Department of Film, The Museum of Modern Art; Philip Chamberlin, American Federation of Film Societies; Shirley Clarke, filmmaker; Dan De Luce, Associated Press; William Fineshriber, Motion Picture Association of America; Lewis Freedman, WNDT; Michael Getz, Cinema Theatre (Los Angeles); Clara Grossmann, film publicist; Gordon Hitchens, editor, <u>Film Comment</u>; Rev. Ronald Holloway, Center for Film Study (Chicago); Emily Jones, Educational Film Library Association; John Korty, filmmaker; Michael F. Mayer, Independent Film Importers and Distributors of America, Inc.; Jim McBride, filmmaker; Jonas Mekas, critic and filmmaker; Perry Miller, National Educational Television;

(more)

Rita J. Morrison, Los Angeles County Museum of Art; Jack Nicholson, producer; Lionel Rogosin, filmmaker; Eva Schlosser, Carnegie Hall Cinema; William Sloan, Donnell Library; Dan Talbot, author; Willard Van Dyke, The Museum of Modern Art; Amos Vogel, Lincoln Center Film Department; and Edith Zornow, WNDT.

Other filmmakers who have expressed support for the aims of the New Cinema Committee are: Robert Breer, Roger Corman, Milos Forman, Jean-Luc Godard, Peter Emmanuel Goldman, Alexander Hammid, Monte Hellman, Edouard Luntz, Pier Paolo Pasolini, Ivan Passer and Agnes Varda.

Members of the executive committee of the International Committee for New Cinema are: Walter Achugar, Uruguay; Mino Argentieri, Italy; André Delvaux, Belgium; Jaromil Jires, Czechoslovakia; Dusan Makavejev, Yugoslavia; Adrienne Mancia, United States; Louis Marcorelles, France; Lino Miccichè, Italy; Lionel Rogosin, United States; Walter Talmon-Gros, West Germany; and Bruno Torri, Italy.

Additional information available from Elizabeth Shaw, Director, and Linda Gordon, Assistant, Department of Public Information, The Museum of Modern Art, 11 West 53 Street, New York, N.Y. 10019. CIrcle 5-8900.

-2-

, 230

(145)