## The Museum of Modern Art

11 West 53 Street, New York, N.Y. 10019 Circle 5-8900 Cable: Modernart

No. 40j Monday, May 2, 1966 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## SPECIAL TO MELBOURNE AND SYDNEY NEWSPAPERS AND AUSTRALIAN MAGAZINES

The Australian artist, Leonard French, os one of 68 painters and sculptors represented in the exhibition of RECENT ACQUISITIONS on view at The Museum of Modern Art in New York City from April 6 through June 12. His work, The Princess, executed in Melbourne in 1965, was the gift of Mr. and Mrs. David Rockefeller to the Museum. Mr. Rockefeller is Chairman of the Museum's Board of Trustees. It was first exhibited to the public in Sydney in November 1965.

Mr. French, who was born in Australia in 1928, lives in Melbourne. He is presently in the United States studying on a Harkness Fellowship. He is represented in the collections of the National Gallery of Victoria in Melbourne, the Gallery of New South Wales, the Queensland Art Gallery, the Gallery of Western Australia and the University of Melbourne.

Other Australian artists represented in The Museum of Modern Art Collection include:
Sidney Nolan, Albert Tucker, William Constable, and Purvis-Jones.

The Museum of Modern Art's annual exhibitions of recently acquired work are presented as report to the public because, even with the additional gallery space made possible by the completion of the first phase of the Museum's building program, only a small part of the acquisitions can be hung in the galleries permanently allotted to the Collections.

The seventy works in the current exhibition, dating from 1908 through 1965, have Curator from been selected and installed by Dorothy C. Miller/of/The Museum Collections,/the larger group, the rest of which will be shown in a series of smaller exhibitions later this year.

The international character of the Museum Collections is well illustrated in the exhibition with artists from 20 countries represented including Great Britain, Argentina, Collombia, Canada, France, Germany, Hungary, Iran, Israel, Italy, Japan, Morocco, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Yugoslavia, as well as Australia.