Museum of Modern Art

West 53 Street, New York, N.Y. 10019 Circle 5-8900 Cable: Modernart

SELECTED LIST OF DINNER GUESTS

THE MUSEUM OF MODERN ART - May 25, 1964

Mr. and Mrs. Larry Aldrich

Mrs. Douglas Auchincloss

Collector - Donor -- Designer

His Excellency, The Ambassador of France and Madame Alphand

Co-Chairman - Junior Council

Mr. and Mrs. Alfred H. Barr, Jr.

Director, Museum Collections

Mr. and Mrs. Gordon Bunshaft

Architect, Skidmore, Owings and

Merrill

Mr. and Mrs. William A. M. Burden

President, The Museum of Modern Art

Mr. and Mrs. Gilbert W. Chapman

Collector - Donor

81r Kenneth Clark

English Scholar

Mr. and Mrs. Gardner Cowles

President, Cowles Magazines and Broadcasting, Inc. - Trustee

Mr. and Mrs. Stuart Davis

Painter

Mr. and Mrs. Edwin Dickinson

Painter

The Honorable and Mrs. C. Douglas Dillon

Secretary of the U.S. Treasury (Mrs. Dillon is a Trustee)

Mr. and Mrs. Robert Dowling

Cultural Executive, Office of the

Mayor

Mr. and Mrs. Walker Evans

Abe Fortas

Photographer

His Excellency, The Ambassador

of Italy and Mrs. Fenoaltea

Washington, D. C.

The Honorable and Mrs. William J. Fulbright Sanator from Arkansas

Mr. and Mrs. R. Buckminster Fuller

Architect

Princess Gourielli (Helena Rubinstein)

Donor

-2-	
Mr. and Mrs. René d'Harnoncourt	Director, The Museum of Modern Art
Mr. and Mrs. Wallace K. Harrison	Architect - Museum Trustee
Mr. and Mrs. August Heckscher	Former Presidential Advisor on the Arts - 20th Century Fund
Dr. and Mrs. James M. Hester	President, New York University
Mr. and Mrs. Ethan Allen Hitchcock	Member of the Dinner Committee
Hans Hofmann	Painter
Mr. and Mrs. Edward Hopper	Painter
Sturgis Ingersoll	Collector - Former President, Philadelphia Museum of Art
Mrs. Jacob Javits	Wife of Senator from New York
Philip C. Johnson	Architect of the new building and garden
Mr. and Mrs. Louis I. Kahn	Architect - Philadelphia
Kenneth Kaating	Senator from New York
Mr. and Mrs. Robert Kinter	President, National Broadcasting Co.
Mr. and Mrs. Grayson Kirk	President, Columbia University
Seymour H. Knox	Collector - Former President, Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo
Mrs. Albert D. Lasker	Collector - Trustee
Mr. and Mrs. Jacques Lipchitz	Sculptor
Mr. and Mrs. Richard Lippold	Sculptor
Mrs.H. Gates Lloyd	Collector - Donor, Washington, D.C.
Mr. and Mrs. John McAndrew	Jewett Arts Center, Wellesley College
Mr. and Mrs. Paul Mellon	National Gallery, Washington, D. C.
Mr. and Mrs. Narasimhan	"Chef de Cabinet" of the United Nations
Mrs. Louise Nevelson	Sculptor
Mr. and Mrs. Beaumont Newhall	Director, George Eastman House
Mr. and Mrs. William S. Paley	Chairman, Columbia Broadcasting System - Trustee

Mr. and Mrs. James Johnson Sweeney

Director, Museum of Fine Arts,

Houston

Mr. and Mrs. Justin Thannhauser

Collector

Francis Thompson

Film Director

Dr. and Mrs. Paul Tillich

Guest Speaker. John Nuveen Professor of Theology at the University of

Chicago Divinity School

The Secretary of the Interior and Mrs. Udall Washington, D. C.

Mr. and Mrs. Willard Van Dyke

Film Director

John Walker

Director, National Gallery of Art,

Smithsonian Institution

William Walton

Commission on Fine Arts, Washington,

D. C.

Mr. and Mrs. Edward M. Warburg

Honorary Trustee

Monroe Wheeler

Director of Publications, The Museum

of Modern Art

Mr. and Mrs. Arnold Whitridge

President, Arts Commission of the

City of New York

Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Withrow

Director, Art Gallery of Toronto

SELECTED LIST OF GUESTS AT OTHER DINNER PARTIES ARRIVING AT THE MUSEUM OF MODERN ART BETWEEN 10 and 10:30 P.M.

Mrs. Lucia Chase

Head of American Ballet

H. E. Sir Patrick Dean

Permanent Representative of United

Kingdom to United Nations

H.E. and Mrs. D. O. Hay

Permanent Representative of Australian Mission to United Nations

Mr. and Mrs. Walter Lippman

Washington, D. C.

H. E. M. Loirdan

Permanent Representative of Belgium

to United Nations

H. E. Mr. A. Kira Matsui

Permanent Representative of Japan to United Nations

M. & Mme. Edcuard Morot-Sir

H.B. Mr. Sverker Astron H.E. Mr. Francis T. P. Plimpton Cultural Attaché to French Consulate Swedish Ambassador to United Nations Deputy Permanent Representative of U.S. to the United Nations.

New York

Mr. & Mrs. Richard Rogers H.E. & William Roger Seydoux

Permanent Representative of France

Cultural Attache, German Consulate

to United Nations.

Dr. Haide Russell Dean & Mrs. William C. Warren

Columbia Law School

Mr. & Mrs. Charles Yost

United Nations

_	
Mrs. Bliss Parkinson	President of International Council of The Museum of Modern Art - Trustee
Robert Rauschenberg	Painter
Sir Herbert and Lady Read	British Art Critic
Mr. and Mrs. Andrew C. Ritchie	Director, Yale University Art Gallery
Mr. and Mrs. David Rockefeller	Chairman, Board of Trustees, The Museum of Modern Art - President, Chase Manhattan Bank
Mr. and Mrs. John D. Rockefeller 3rd	Mrs. Rockefeller is Museum Trustee
Mr. and Mrs. Mark Rothko	Painter
Mrs. Eero Saarinen	Art critic, N.B.C Member Fine Arts Commission
Professor Paul J. Sachs	Honorary Curator of Drawings, Fogg Art Museum, Harvard University
Mr. and Mrs. Alexis St. Leger	Poet
His Excellency, The Ambassador of Belgium and Baroness Scheyven	40 cm 40 cm 4m top 3m qur 400 qu
Mr. and Mrs. William Schumann	President of Lincoln Center
Mr. and Mrs.Robert Scull	Collector - Donor
Mr. and Mrs. Ben Shahn	Painter
David Smith	Sculptor
Gordon M. Smith	Director, Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo
James Thrall Soby	Trustee
Mr. and Mrs. Edward Steichen	Photographer
Mrs. Alfred Stern	Co-Chairman, Junior Council of Museum
Mr. and Mrs. Roger Stevens	Art Advisor to the President
Adlai E. Stevenson	American Ambassador to the United Nations
Mr. and Mrs. Donald B. Straus	Mrs. Straus, Trustee and Chairman, Committee for Reopening