MUSEUM OF MODERN ART 11 WEST 53RD STREET, NEW YORK

TELEPHONE: CIRCLE 7-7470

FOR RELEASE Thursday, November 7,1935

Under the chairmanship of Mrs. John S. Sheppard, the Membership Committee of The Museum of Modern Art has arranged a special meeting and luncheon for Out-of-Town Chairmen of the Committee to be held to- / day (Thursday, November 7) in the library of the Museum, 11 West 53 Street, to discuss the extension work of the Museum throughout the country.

Mrs. John D. Rockefeller, Jr., has invited the members of the Committee to visit her home during the afternoon to see some of her paintings and to hear a brief address by Dr. Artemas Packard, head of the Department of Art and Archeology at Dartmouth College. After the visit to Mrs. Rockefeller's home the members of the Committee will go to the residence of Mrs. Samuel Lewisohn, who has invited them to see the Lewisohn art collection. While at the hone of Mrs. Lewisohn the Committee will listen to a talk on Vincent van Gogh by Alfred H. Barr, Jr., Director of the Museum, which will be broadcast over Station WEAF and network on the Women's Radio Review at four p.m.

The Membership Committee consists of Mrs. John S. Sheppard, Chairman; Mrs. Cornelius N. Bliss, Mrs. William S. Cowles, Mrs. William T. Emmet, Jr., Mrs. Walter Hochschild, Mrs. David Franklin Houston, Mrs. O'Donnell Iselin, Mrs. T. Catesby Jones, Mrs. Samuel A. Lewisohn, Mrs. John Parkinson, Jr., Mrs. Ernest C. Poole, Mrs. Baillie Ripley, Mrs. J. D. Rockefeller, Jr., Mrs. Nelson A. Rockefeller, Mr. Harold Sterner, Miss Mary Hoyt Wiborg, Mrs. Laurance Rockefeller, Mrs. Artemas L. Gates, Mr. Alfred Easton Poor, Mrs. John D.W. Churchill, Mr. John D. Kennedy Mrs. Cornelius J. Sullivan, Mrs. Stanley Resor.

Out-of-Town Chairmen of the Membership Committee who will attend the meeting are Mrs. Robert Hillyer, CAMBRIDGE, MASS.; Mrs. Ernest. Kanzler, Mr. Robert Tahnahill, Mr. John Newberry Jr., DETROIT, MICH. Mrs. August Morrison, MINNEAPOLIS, MINN.; Mrs. Henry H. Townshend, NEW HAVEN, CONN.: Mrs. Wm. K. Prentice, PRINCETON, N. J.; Mrs. Charles A. Robinson, Jr., PROVIDENCE, R.I.; Mrs. Francis Cunningham, ROCHESTER, N.Y.: Mrs. W. DeRenne, SAVANNAH, GA.; Mrs. Clifford W. Gaylord, ST. LOUIS, MO.; Mrs. McCook Knox, WASHINGTON, D.C.; Miss Elizabeth W. White, WARERBURY; CONN.; Mrs. M. Bullitt, LOUISVILLE, KY. Miss Louisa Dresser WORCESTER, MASS.

Out-of-Town Chairmen not attending the meeting are Mrs. Thomas Robins, BUFFALO, N.Y.; Mrs. Charles B. Goodspeed, CHICAGO, ILL.; Mrs. Melcolm McBride, CLEVELAND, OHIO; Mrs. Charles H. Chadwick, PALM BEACH, FLA.; Mrs. Geo. A. Hill Jr., HOUSTON, TEXAS; Miss Pinky Bell, PITTSBURGH, PA. Mr. Walter G. Davis, PORTLAND, ME.; Mrs. Montague Charman, SYRACUSE, N.Y.; Mrs. Wm. J.R. Alexander, CINCINNATI, OHIO; Mrs. Meredith Hare, COLORADO; Mrs. Francis Goodwin, HARTFORD, CONN.; Mrs. John Bakewell, SAN FRANCISCO, CALIF.; Miss Olive Rush, SANTA FE, N.MEX.; Miss Alice O'Brien, ST. PAUL, MINN.; Mrs. Harold Symonds, UTICA, N.Y.