## THE MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

11 WEST 53 STREET, NEW YORK 19, N. Y.

-

TELEPHONE: CIRCLE 5-8900

No. 101 For release Friday, Nov. 6, 1959

## SELZNICK GOLDEN LAUREL JURY FORMED

A distinguished jury of seven prominent Americans will select the Golden Laurel film, awarded each year by David O. Selznick to the foreign film that has done the most to advance international understanding and good will, it was announced today by Arthur Knight, Executive Director of the Awards presentation. The jury will include W. Averell Harriman, former Governor of New York; Associate Justice of the Supreme Court William O. Douglas; Mrs. Eleanor Roosevelt; Mrs. Clare Boothe Luce; Dr. Ralphe Bunche; Norman Cousins, editor of <u>The Saturday Review</u>; and Gardner Cowles, publisher of Look.

Governor Harriman, Mrs. Luce, and Mr. Cousins are new members of the Golden Laurels jury. The others have all served for many years previously. This will mark the tenth annual presentation of the Golden Laurel Awards. It is being presented this year at the Museum of Modern Art under the auspices of the Museum in cooperation with the American Association for the United Nations.

"The Golden Laurel Awards, founded and presented annually by David O. Selznick, have for the past eight years been a feature of the great European Film Festivals", said Mr. Knight, who is also film critic for <u>The Saturday Review</u>. "Unlike most prizes, the Golden Laurel is presented not merely for cinematic excellence, but also and principally for contributions to mutual understanding among the peoples of the world. As such, it has become as eagerly coveted as any of the major Festival awards."

One of the conditions laid down by Mr. Selznick in establishing the Awards was that, since these are American prizes, the recipients should be limited to non-American films and film-makers.

The Selznick Awards are comprised of the Golden Laurel, which is given for the film, first exhibited in America during the previous year, that has contributed most to mutual understanding; the Silver Laurel Medals, which are given to other films selected by the Nominating Committee and by the Jury; and the Golden Laurel Trophy, an additional award established by Mr. Selznick several years ago, and given annually to a foreign film-maker whose work through the years has contributed consistently to the purposes of the Awards. Previous winners of this Trophy have been the late Sir Alexander Korda, Sir Michael Balcon, Rene Clair, Vittorio de Sica and Sir Laurence Olivier. This year's Nominating Committee has given the Jury five recommendations as candidates for the Trophy.

more ...

It was Mr. Selznick's decision to hold the Ninth Golden Laurel Awards in New York, Mr. Knight revealed. Previous presentations have been at the Venice, Berlin, Edinburgh and Sao Paolo Festivals, and at the American Embassy in Paris; and the Awards each year have been presented by the American Ambassador to the country in which the presentations were made.

"One purpose of the Award was to gain the maximum attention for the prizewinning films, as an incentive to others to aim their films at furthering mutual understanding," Mr. Knight added. "In the flurry of awards that invariably marked the climax of the European festival season, the impact of the Golden Laurel was somewhat lost on American audiences. It was for this reason that it was decided to move the scene of the presentations this year to the United States. Accordingly, the ninth series of awards will be presented at the Museum of Modern Art, under the joint auspices of the Museum and the American Association for the United Nations, at a date to be announced after the Jury screenings have been completed."

Seven films from five countries are competing for the Golden Laurel, having been selected by the Nominating Committee, of which the members are Paul V. Beckley, film critic of the "New York Herald-Tribune", Kate Cameron of the "Daily News", Alton Cook of "The World Telegram & Sun", Janet Graves of "Photoplay", Philip Hartung of "The Commonweal", Arthur Knight of "The Saturday Review", and Archer Winsten of the "New York Post". Chairman of the Committee was Richard Griffith, Curator of the Museum of Modern Art Film Library.

For further information contact Elizabeth Shaw, Publicity Director, Museum of Modern Art, 11 West 53 Street, New York, N. Y. CI 5-8900.

Sent to: film hist, news. I map.

-2-

225