THE MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

11 WEST 53 STREET, NEW YORK 19, N. Y.

TELEPHONE: CIRCLE 5-8900

No. 99 For release Sunday, Nov. 1, 1959

Mrs. John D. Rockefeller 3rd has been elected President of the Museum of Modern Art succeeding William A. M. Burden, who resigned to become U. S. Ambassador to Belgium. Dr. Henry Allen Moe has succeeded her as Chairman of the Board. Mr. Burden, who was elected President in 1953, remains a trustee.

Mrs. Rockefeller, who has been a trustee of the Museum since 1953, is a member of the Exhibition Committee and the Collections Committee. She was the first Chairman of the Museum's Junior Council and the first President of the International Council at the Museum. Mrs. Rockefeller's other affiliations include Asia Society, of which her husband is President. She serves on the Society's Gallery Committee and is Chairman of the Cultural Exchange and Buildings Committee.

Dr. Henry Allen Moe is Secretary General of the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, Treasurer and Director of the Association of American Rhodes Scholars and is a trustee of several other foundations including the Rockefeller Foundation, the Louis Comfort Tiffany Foundation and the American Academy in Rome. He has been a trustee of the Museum of Modern Art since 1943, was formerly first Vice Chairman of the Board and has been active on various Museum committees.

In 1955 Dr. Moe received an Award for Distinguished Service to the Arts from the National Institute of Arts and Letters and in the same year was named an honorary fellow of Barsnose College, University of Oxford.

For further information contact Elizabeth Shaw, Publicity Director, Museum of Modern Art, 11 West 53 Street, New York, N. Y. CI 5-8900.

Sens: n. y. Basic hier