31 Oct. 1958

ll West 53 Street, New York 19, N.Y. Telephone: Circle 5-8900

This country's contribution to the new UNESCO Headquarters Building in Paris which is the Executive Board and Committee Room, was opened today (Friday, Oct. 31) for American Press representatives in Paris. The building itself will be formally dedicated on November 3.

Philip C. Johnson, well-known American architect, was commissioned to design and furnish the room by the International Council at the MONA, a group of art patrons and community leaders from various parts of the country. Eight membernations of UNESCO were invited by the Director-General to design different rooms. In this country, the Department of State asked the International Council to assume all responsibility in the project, including raising the necessary funds.

The windowless room has a sloping ceiling. Three walls are covered with bronze-green velvet; the fourth is a sloping, undulating concrete wall, part of the exterior of the building itself.

Forty-six white grill-work wooden panels fastened to poles in front of the green velvet walls make the chief decorative element in the room. Lighting is provided by simple fixtures suspended from long poles attached to the ceiling.

Translation booths are enclosed behind glass panels in one of the velvet covered walls.

As the room will be used for different kinds of meetings, the furniture arrangement is flexible. The conference table in the center of the room is covered with white vellum leather. Ceiling and floor are also white.

Mrs. Henry Potter Russell of San Francisco will represent the International Council at the opening ceremonies on Monday, November 3 in Paris when the room is formally turned over to the UNESCO Director-General. Among the members of the International Council expected to be present are Mrs. H. Gates Lloyd, Mrs. George Hamlin Shaw, Mrs. Louise Smith and Mr. and Mrs. Burton Tremaine. Porter A. McCray

more.....

Director of the Museum's International Program and William S. Lieberman, Curator of Prints, will also be there, as well as Mr. Johnson, designer of the room.

Donors to the room include the Avalon Foundation, General Maurice Hirsch, Mrs. Frederick W. Hilles, Mr. William T. Kemper, Mrs. Phyllis Lambert, Mrs. John D. Rockefeller 3rd, Mr. David Rockefeller, Mrs. Henry Potter Russell, Mrs. George Hamlin Shaw, Mrs. Warren Tremaine, The Sponsoring Committee for the United States Commission for UNESCO Conference and the International Council at the Museum of Modern Art.

For further information please call Elizabeth Shaw, Publicity Dept. Museum of Modern Art, 11 West 53rd Street, New York 19, N.Y. Circle 5-8900.