166

## THE MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

11 WEST 53 STREET, NEW YORK 19, N. Y.

TELEPHONE: CIRCLE 5-8900

FOR RELEASE: Wednesday, July 11, 1956

No. 71a

## SUPREME COURT JUSTICE AFFOINTED TO GOEDEN LAUREL JURY

It was announced yesterday by Richard Griffith, Curator of the Museum of Modern Art Film Library and Chairman of the Nominating Committee for the David O. Selznick Golden Laurel Award, that Associate Justice William O. Douglas of the United States Supreme Court has accepted appointment to the Golden Laurel Jury, replacing James P. Warburg. Mr. Warburg, economist and author, resigned this year, having been a member of the original Jury since 1950.

The Award was founded in 1950 by David O. Selznick to honor the foreign film of each year which, in the opinion of the distinguished American Jury, has made an outstanding contribution to mutual understanding and goodwill among the peoples of the world. Awards in previous years have gone to the following films: UGETSU, 1955, Japan; DIE LETZTE BRÜCKE, 1954, Austria; THE CRUEL SEA, 1953, Britain; CRY, THE BELOVED COUNTRY, 1952, Britain; IL CAMMINO DELLA SPERANZA, 1951, Italy; and DONNE SENZA NOME, 1950, Italy.

Other members of the Golden Laurel Jury are the Hon. Ellis Arnall, Dr. Ralph J. Bunche, Mr. Gardner Cowles, Mr. Otto Harbach, Mr. René d'Harnoncourt, Mrs. Franklin D. Roosevelt, Mr. Herbert Bayard Swope.

For further information contact Elizabeth Shaw, Publicity Director, Museum of Modern Art, 11 West 53 Street, New York 19, N. Y. CIrcle 5-8900.