THE MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

11 WEST 53 STREET, NEW YORK 19, N. Y.

TELEPHONE: CIRCLE 5-8900

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: November 22, 1955

No. 95

1,1

19

12.8

is: "

Lin

23.6

160

· ...

1. 18

ş.,

4

ADVANCE NOTICE FOR MAGAZINE EDITORS AND WRITERS

A gala evening preview to be called "Collectors' First Choice" will open one of the Museum of Modern Art's major spring exhibitions, RECENT DRAWINGS U.S.A. on Tuesday, April 24. This unusual exhibition and sale of more than 125 drawings selected from almost 5000 submitted by artists from all parts of the country, will be on view in the Museum's first floor galleries through August 5.

As all the works of art in the show will be for sale, the preview is called "Collectors' First Choice" because those attending will have the first chance to buy. Several drawings will also be given away that evening. A lucky 4 or 5 guests will have their choice of whatever has not been sold by 11 o'clock. The remaining drawings will be sold to the public throughout the course of the exhibition.

Mrs. Sawyer Goodman Dewey is chairman and Mrs. John Pierrepont co-chairman of the benefit preview which is expected to be attended by hundreds of friends of the Museum. French champagnes and cognac will be served and background music will add another festive note. The exhibition is sponsored by the Junior Council, a group of young friends of the Museum under the chairmanship of Mrs. Donald B. Straus. The preview will be a benefit for the Council's program which includes such special activities and services as the Art Lending Service, evening symposia, and special events and children's programs.

Paul J. Sachs, Professor Emeritus of Harvard, well known scholar and art authority, is Honorary Chairman of the Junior Council's Drawing Show Committee. Mrs, E. Powis Jones is Chairman and Mrs. Carleton Sprague Smith, Vice Chairman. Drawings are being received now in space set aside in a old house on West 53rd Street. Selection will be made within a few weeks so that a catalog reproducing many of the drawings can be published when the exhibition opens.

Members of the Benefit Committee, under the chairmanship of Mrs. Dewey and Mrs. Pierrepont, are:

Mr. Walter Bareiss Mr. Armand P. Bartos Mr. Arthur Bullowa Miss Pamela Colin Mr. Robert Graff Mrs. August Heckscher Mr. William N. Jayme Mrs. E. Powis Jones Mrs. Thomas L. Kempner Mr. Harold E. Leeds Mrs. John B. Oakes Mr. Don Page Mrs. Lawrence S. Phillips Mrs. Richard A. R. Pinkham Miss Ann C. Resor Mr. Peter A. Rubel Mrs. Carleton Sprague Smith Mrs. Donald B. Straus Miss Lily van Ameringen

For additional information please call Elizabeth Shaw, Publicity Director, Museum of Modern Art, 11 West 53 Street, New York City, Circle 5-8900