THE MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

11 WEST 53 STREET, NEW YORK 19, N. Y.

TELEPHONE: CIRCLE 5-8900

No. 78.

FOR RELEASE: Sept. 25, 1955

251

FILM SERIES AT MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

The names of more than 100 people prominent in films, theater, television and art education who are sponsoring the Thursday Evening Film Series at the Museum of Modern Art for the benefit of the Museum's Film Preservation Fund were announced today by Richard Griffith, Curator of the Museum's Film Library. The subscription series, which will begin on October 6 and run through December 14, will present rarely seen old and recent American and foreign films including Robert Benchley in The Treasurer's Report, John Barrymore and Katherine Hepburn in A Bill of Divorcement Humphrey Jennings' Lili Marlene, newsreel footage of Queen Victoria, enemy propoganda films and The Threepenny Opera .

The purpose of the Freservation Fund is to save the most important films in the Museum's world famous Library by transferring them from the old perishable nitrate stock on which they were originally printed and which seldom lasts more than 40 years to the new durable triacetate stock which will last at least 400 years.

The Benefit Committee for the Series consists of: Mr and Mrs. Thomas J. Brandon, Mr. Leo Dratfield, Mr. William K. Everson, Mr. and Mrs. Paul Falkenburg, Mr. and Mrs. Herbert Golden, Mr. Edward Harrison, Mr. and Mrs. Irving Jacoby, Mr. Paul Killiam, Miss Rosalind Kossoff, Mr. and Mrs. Robert Popper, Mrs. Alfred W. Schwalberg, Miss Lily van Ameringen, Mr. and Mrs. Willard van Dyke, Mr. Herman G. Weinberg.

Among those who have agreed thus far to sponsor the series are:

Mrs. Max Ascoli Mrs. Martin Beck Mr. Rudi Blesh Miss Louise Brooks Mr. Julien Bryan Miss Mary Ellen Bute Mrs. Shirley Clarke Mr. and Mrs. Gardner Cowles Miss Cheryl Crawford Mr. John Cromwell Mr. Charles H. Dand Mr. James Davis Mr. Martin Davis, Jr. Mr. Richard Davis Miss Maggie Dent Mr. and Mrs. Ned E. Depinet Mr. H. William Fitelson Mrs. Edsel B. Ford Miss Nina Foch Mr. and Mrs. Philip Gerard Miss Helen Grayson Mr. Able Green The Honorable Stanton Griffis Mrs. D. W. Griffith Mr. Otis Guernsey Miss Uta Hagen Mr. Richard Hanser Mr. Irving Hoffman Dr. Arno Huth Mr. Donald Hyatt

Irs. S. B. Jaffe Mr. Nate B. Spingold Mr. Dan Jones Miss Cecile Starr Miss Emily Jones Mr. and Mrs. Clarence Stein Mr. and Mrs. Richardson Bronson Mr. William Kenly Mrs. Donald B. Straus Mr. Edward Kingsley Mr. and Mrs. Amos Vogel Mrs. Robert Kintner Mrs. T. R. Vreeland Mr. Ike Kleinerman Mr. and Mrs. William H. Wells Dr. Sieffried Kracauer Mr. Lothar Wolff Mr. Richard Kraft Miss Helen Levitt (list incomplete) Mr. William Levitt Mr. Albert Lewin Mr. Martin J. Lewis Mr. and Mrs. Joseph L. Mankiewicz Mrs. Gertrude A. Mellon Mr. Arthur Miller Mr. Nicholas Napoli Mr. and Mrs. Morton Nathanson Dr. Erwin Panofsky Mrs. Franklin D. Roosevelt Mr. Leo Rosten Miss Muriel Rukeyser Mr. Henry Saloman Mr. and Mrs. Robert W. Sarnoff Miss Janet Scellen Mr. Meyer Schapiro Miss Hortense Schorr Mr. Charles Schwep Mr. Oscar Serlin Mr. Irvin Shapiro Mr. and Mr. Robert E. Sherwood