THE MUSEUM OF MODERN ART MI papers - society

11 WEST 53 STREET, NEW YORK 19, N. Y. TELEPHONE: CIRCLE 5-8900

editors

12

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

No. 79

Final plans for the gala opening of "Young Collectors," an exhibition of paintings lent by members of the Junior Council of the Museum of Modern Art to be shown in the Guest House of Mrs. John D. Rockefeller 3rd, 242 East 52 Street, on Thursday, November 4, were made by the Council's Benefit Committee at a meeting on Thursday, September 16. Mrs. Rockefeller is Honorary Chairman of the Council, which sponsors such Museum activities as the Art Lending Service and special exhibitions and sales of the work of younger artists.

Mrs. Donald Straus, Chairman of the Junior Council, and Mrs. Charles S. Dewey, Jr., Chairman of the Benefit Committee, were among those attending the planning meeting. The exhibition, selected by Alfred H. Barr, Jr., Director of the Museum of Modern Art Collections, includes seldom-exhibited paintings by modern European and American masters as well as work by younger artists. It will be open to the public every afternoon from November 5 through November 28. This will mark the first time Mrs. Rockefeller's Guest House, a glass and brick walled house built around a court and pool and designed by Philip C. Johnson, has been opened to the public.

Among the Council members active on the Benefit Committee are Mrs. Carleton Sprague Smith and Mr. Walter Bareiss, vice-chairmen, and Mrs. E. Powis Jones, Exhibition Chairman. Other Council members serving on the Committee are:

Mrs. Julius Ochs Adler, Jr. Mrs. Clark Andrews Mrs. Armand P. Bartos Mr. Winslow Carlton Mrs. Homi Devitre Mr. Robert D. Graff Mrs. Barklie Henry Miss Lynn Hochschild Mrs. Thomas L. Kempner Mrs. Robert E. Kintner Mr. Harold Eliot Leeds Mrs. Robert Leonhardt

Mrs. John Lockwood Mrs. Gertrud A. Mellon Mr. Don Page Mrs. John Pierrepont Miss Ann Resor Mrs. Reuben F. Richards Mr. Peter Rübel Mrs. Robert W. Sarnoff Miss Winifred Trimble Miss Lily van Ameringen Mrs. John Wilkie

A list of Sponsors for the Junior Council Benefit is attached.

a a standard and

more

No. 79

Mr. Leigh Wilton Allen Mrs. Eduardo Andrade Mr. and Mrs. Ernest Angell Mr. Louis S. Auchincloss Mr. and Mrs. Lee Ault Mr. Frederick B. Ayer Mr. and Mrs. Alfred H. Barr, Jr. Mr. and Mrs. Richard N. Beaty Mr. and Mrs. Pierre Bedard Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth Beirn Hon. and Mrs. William Benton Mr. and Mrs. Robert E. Blum Mr. and Mrs. Kenyon Boocock Mr. and Mrs. James C. Brady Mr. and Mrs. William A. M. Burden Miss Caroline Burke Mr. and Mrs. Holger Cahill Mr. and Mrs. Cass Canfield Mr. Robert Carson Mr. and Mrs. Giorgio Cavaglieri Mr. and Mrs. Bennett Cerf Mr. and Mrs. Gilbert W. Chapman Mr. and Mrs. Ward Cheney Mr. and Mrs. Stephen C. Clark Mr. and Mrs. Ralph F. Colin Mr. and Mrs. Louis G. Cowan Mr. and Mrs. Jarvis Cromwell Mr. and Mrs. Charles C. Cunningham Mrs. Ian MacDonald Mrs. Charles Suydam Cutting Mrs. Tobe C. Davis Mrs. Tobe C. DavisMr. Tobe C. DavisCount and Countess Jean de LagardeMr. and Mrs. Alastair MartinMr. and Mrs. John de MenilMr. and Mrs. Andre MeyerCount and Countess Bernard d'EscayracMr. and Mrs. G. Macculloch MillerMr. and Mrs. Bene d'HernoncourtDr. and Mrs. Henry Allen Moe Mr. and Mrs. Rene d'Harnoncourt Mr. and Mrs. Howard Dietz Mr. and Mrs. J. Richardson Dilworth Mr. and Mrs. Frederick E. Donaldson Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Sylvester Douglass, Jr. Mr. and Mrs. Theodor Muller Mr. and Mrs. Edward Duble Mr. and Mrs. Winthrop S. Emmet Mr. and Mrs. Lynn Farnol Mr. and Mrs. Morton Fearey Mr. and Mrs. Edwin S. Friendly, Jr. Mr. and Mrs. Paul E. Geier Mr. Howard Gilman Mr. and Mrs. Bruce A. Gimbel Mr. and Mrs. John L. Goldstone Mr. Philip L. Goodwin Mr. and Mrs. A. Conger Goodyear Mr. John Gordon Dr. Jacob J. Graham Mr. and Mrs. Robert C. Graham Mr. and Mrs. Allen Grover Mr. and Mrs. David L. Guyer Mr. and Mrs. Sherlock D. Hackley Mr. and Mrs. William L. Hanley Mr. Leonard C. Hanna, Jr. Mrs. Louis H. Harris Mr. and Mrs. Michael M. Harris Mrs. McFadden Harrison Mr. and Mrs. Ira Haupt Mr. and Mrs. Joseph H. Hazen Mr. and Mrs. Eric Heckett Mr. and Mrs. Geoffrey Hellman Mr. and Mrs. John S. Hilson Mr. Fred Hirschhorn, Jr. Mrs. Walter Hirshon Mrs. walter Hirshon Mr. and Mrs. Walter Hochschild Mr. and Mrs. Arthur A. Houghton, Jr. Mr. and Mrs. John W. Huntington

Mr. and Mrs. Donald F. Hyde Mr. and Mrs. William H. Jackson Mr. and Mrs. Robert Allan Jacobs Mrs. William B. Jaffe Mr. and Mrs. Walter M.Jeffords, Jr. Mr. Philip C. Johnson Gen. and Mrs. Robert Wood Johnson Miss Frances H. Jones Mr. and Mrs. Gilbert W. Kahn Mr. Max Kahn Mr. and Mrs. Cletus Keating Mr. and Mrs. Francis L. Kellogg Mrs. Francis K. Kernan Mr. and Mrs. James Kingsland Mr. and Mrs. Herbert W. Klotz Mrs. Whitman Knapp Mr. and Mrs. Chester LaRoche Mrs. Albert D. Lasker Mr. and Mrs. Lax Lerner Mr. Norbert Leroy Miss Barbara Levy Dr. and Mrs. David M. Levy Mrs. Bobort Mrs. Robert L. Levy Mr. William S. Lieberman Mr. and Mrs. Leon Livingstone Mr. and Mrs. Larry Lowman Mr. and Mrs. Joseph L. Mankiewicz Mr. amd Mrs. Stanley Marcus Dr. and Mrs. Henry Allen Moe Mr. and Mrs. Robert Montgomery Mr. and Mrs. Paul Moore Mr. and Mrs. Thomas A. Morgan Mr. and Mrs. Charles Nagle Mr. and Mrs. Clyde M. Newhouse Mrs. Lester M. Nightingale Mrs. Dorothy Norman Mr. and Mrs. Donald Oenslager Mr. and Mrs. William S. Paley Mr. and Mrs. Peter Standish Paine Mr. and Mrs. Henry Parish Mrs. Bliss Parkinson Mr. and Mrs. William F. Pederson Mr. and Mrs. Richard A.R. Pinkham Mr. Frederick R. Pleasants Mr. and Mrs. Oliver Rea Mr. and Mrs. Stanley B. Resor Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Carnduff Ritchie Mr. and Mrs. Louis J. Robbins Count and Countess Roberti Mr. and Mrs. Nelson A.Rockefeller Mr. and Mrs. Richard Rodgers Mr. and Mrs. Russell Chapin Rogers Mr. and Mrs. Julius Rosenberg Mr. Theodore Rousseau, Jr. Prof. and Mrs. Paul J. Sachs Mr. and Mrs. Charles Baker Salsbury Mr. and Mrs. Robert Saudek Mr. and Mrs. Harry Scherman Mr. and Mrs. Carl O. Schniewind Mrs. Irene Mayer Selznick Mrs. John L. Senior Mr. and Mrs. John L. Senior, Jr. Mrs. Boris Sergievsky Miss Dorothy Shaver

No. 79

Mr. Arvin Shaw, III Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Parkman Shaw, Jr. Mr. and Mrs. Gregory Shlomm Mrs. Kenneth F. Simpson Mr. and Mrs. L.M.C. Smith Mr. and Mrs. George Grant Snowden Mr. and Mrs. James Thrall Soby Mr. and Mrs. David M. Solinger Mr. and Mrs. Otto Spaeth Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Spewack Mr. and Mrs. Clarance Stanley Mr. and Mrs. Peter Stephaich Mr. and Mrs. Henry M. Stern, Jr. Mrs. Henry B. Stimson Mr. and Mrs. Donald S. Stralem Mrs. Henry S. Sturgis Mr. and Mrs. James Johnson Sweeney Mr. and Mrs. Otto Teegen Mr. and Mrs. B. A. Tompkins Brigadier and Mrs. John W.F. Treadwell Mr. and Mrs. Ronald Tree Mr. and Mrs. Burton Tremaine Mrs. Lila Tyng Mr. and Mrs. Ludwig von Hurter Mr. and Mrs. Edward M.M. Warburg Mrs. George Henry Warren Dr. and Mrs. Benjamin Philp Watson Mr. Monroe Wheeler Miss Betty White Mr. and Mrs. John Hay Whitney Mr. and Mrs. John T. Winkhaus Mrs. Harry A. Woodruff Princess Alexis Zalstem-Zalessky Mrs. Stephanie Cartwright Zavell Mr. William Zeckendorf, Jr. Mr. and Mrs. Victor Zurcher Mr. and Mrs. Gardner Cowles Mr. and Mrs. Eustace Seligman

(incomplete)