THE MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

11 WEST 53 STREET, NEW YORK 19, N. Y.

TELEPHONE: CIRCLE 5-8900

United States Pavilion XXVII Biennale, Venice

PRESS PREVIEW: FRIDAY June 18, 1954

FOR RELEASE: SATURDAY June 19, 1954

No. 60 C

THE HON. WILLIAM A. M. BURDEN, President of the Museum of Modern Art, is well known in the United States for his activities in government service, business, educational and charitable institutions. He has been a trustee of the Museum since 1943, and served as chairman of the important Trustee Committee on the Museum Collections.

Mr. Burden's own private art collection consists of outstanding examples of American and European paintings and sculpture, including works by Seurat, Giacometti, Picasso and Francis Bacon as well as paintings by younger Americans such as William Baziotes. He is also well known for his interest in modern architecture and industrial design.

Mr. Burden is a director of The Hanover Bank and of other business corporations. He is a governor of the Society of the New York Hospital, a director of the Council on Foreign Relations, a member of the council and past president of the Institute of the Aeronautical Sciences, a visiting member of various faculty committees of Harvard University and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and a trustee of the French Institute in the United States.

Born in New York City in 1906, Mr. Burden was graduated cum laude from Harvard College in 1927. He was formerly Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Air, and Special Assistant for Research and Development to the Secretary of the Air Force. He is now the senior partner in the New York firm of William A. M. Burden and Co.

Other officers of the Museum of Modern Art are: John Hay Whitney, Chairman of the Board; Henry Allen Moe, 1st Vice-Chairman; Philip L. Goodwin, 2nd Vice-Chairman; Mrs. David M. Levy, Vice-President; Charles T. Keppel, Assistant Treasurer; Allen Porter, Assistant Secretary; and Francis S. McIlhenny, Jr., Assistant Secretary.

The members of the Board of Trustees are: John Hay Whitney, Henry Allen Moe, Philip L. Goodwin, Mrs. David M. Levy, Alfred H. Barr, Jr., Mrs. Robert Woods Bliss, Stephen C. Clark, Ralph F. Colin, Mrs. W. Murray Crane,* Rene d'Harnoncourt, Mrs. Edsel B. Ford, A. Conger Goodyear, Mrs. Simon Guggenheim,* Wallace K. Harrison, James W. Husted,* Mrs. Albert D. Lasker, Mrs. Henry R. Luce, Ranald H. MacDonald, Mrs. Samuel A. Marx, Mrs. G. MacCulloch Miller, William S. Paley, Mrs. Bliss Parkinson, Mrs. Charles S. Payson, Duncan Phillips,* Andrew Carnduff Ritchie, David Rockefeller, Mrs. John D. Rockefeller, 3rd, Nelson A. Rockefeller, Beardsley Ruml, Paul J. Sachs,* John L. Senior, Jr., James Thrall Soby, Edward M. M. Warburg, and Monroe Wheeler.

* Honorary Trustee for life.