THE MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

TELEPHONE: CIRCLE 7-7471

FOR RELEASE WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 4,19

In the library-penthouse of The Museum of Modern Art, 11 West 53d Street, the Membership Committee of that organization held its first luncheon meeting of the season yesterday. Announcement was made that the Membership Committee has during the spring and summer organized on a national scale to adjust itself to the increasing national scope of the Museum's activities and better to inform the country of the Museum's work.

This important innovation means the creation of an out-of-town representation by appointing a Chairman for each chapter of the Committee in every part of the country. To date the following representatives have accepted chairmanships of out-of-town chapters: Miss Ett Cone, Baltimore, M.d.; Mrs. S.V.R. Crosby, Boston, Mass.; Mrs. Walter R. Lord, Buffalo, N.Y; Mrs. Charles B. Goodspeed, Chicago, Ill; Mrs. William J. R. Alexander, Cincinnati, Ohio; Mrs. P. C. Hill, Fort Worth Texas; Mrs. Francis Goodwin, Hartford, Conn.; Miss Elinor Clark, Haverford, Pa.; Mrs. M. Bullitt, Louisville, Ky.; Dean Everett V. Meeks, Director, School of Fine Arts, Yale University, New Haven, Conn.; Mrs. Chas. H. Chadwick, Palm Beach, Fla.; Mrs. Charles A. Robinson, Jr., Providence, R. I.; Mr. Berkeley Williams, Jr., Rich. mond, Va.; Mrs. Francis Cunningham, Rochester, N. Y.; Miss Alice O'Brie St. Paul, Minn.; Miss Olive Rush, Santa Fe, N.M.; Mr. Josiah P. Marvel Director, Springfield Museum, Springfield, Mass.; and Mrs. William Henry White, Waterbury, Conn.

Mrs. John S. Sheppard of New York is Chairman of the Membership Committee, composed of the following members from New York City:

Mrs. Alexander M. Bing, Mrs. Porter Chandler, Mrs. John D. W. Churchill Mrs. Thomas R. Coward, Mrs. W. S. Cowles, Mrs. William T. Emmet, Jr., Mrs. Artemus L. Gates, Mrs. Walter Hochschild, Mrs. David Franklin Houston, Mrs. O'Donnell Isolin, Mrs. John D. Kennedy, Mrs. Samuel A. Lewischn, Mrs. Charles J. Liebman, Mrs. D. Percy Morgan, Jr., Mrs. John Parkinson, Jr., Mr. Alfred Easton Poor, Mrs. Stanley Resor, Mrs. Baillie Ripley, Miss Pauline Robinson, Mrs. John D. Rockefeller, Jr., Mrs. Nelson A. Rockefeller, Mr. Harlold Sterner, Mrs. Cornelius J. Sullivan, and Miss Mary Hoyt Wiborg.