## 461104 - 51 THE MUSEUM OF MODERN ART 11 WEST 53RD STREET, NEW YORK 19, N. Y.

TELEPHONE: CIRCLE 5-8900

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

134

## RECEPTION TO GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF UNITED NATIONS TO BE GIVEN BY TRUSTEES OF MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

A formal reception to welcome the members of the General Assembly of the United Nations will be given by the Trustees of the Museum of Modern Art at the Museum on Wednesday evening, November 5. at nine o'clock.

The reception is being given to enable the representatives of the United Nations to view privately the Museum's collections and exhibitions. The exhibitions being shown at present include <u>Fourteen Americans</u>, the paintings of <u>Florine</u> <u>Stettheimer</u>, <u>Modern Handmade Jewelry</u>, and a large selection of some of the finest works in modern painting and sculpture, both American and European, owned by the Museum. In the Young People's Gallery is an exhibition of <u>Cartooning</u> and on the first floor a small exhibition of <u>Design Trends</u> in furniture, tableware and fabrics.

During the entire evening a special program of motion pictures from the Museum's Film Library will be continuously projected. The program will be composed of the following short subjects:

> THE MOVIES MARCH ON (March of Time, Vol.V:12) LES TROIS PETITS COCHONS (Disney) WINDOW CLEANER (Bucher-March) SWING TIME (RKO; Excerpt: Fred Astaire's Bojangles sequence) MOVIETONE NEWSREEL 1927 (George Bernard Shaw) COLOR BOX (Len Lye)

The receiving line on the first floor of the Museum will be headed by Mr. John Hay Whitney, Chairman of the Board, and Mrs. Whitney, Mr. Nelson A. Rockefeller, President of the Museum, and Mrs. Rockefeller, and other officers and Trustees. In addition to Mr. Whitney and Mr. Rockefeller, the Trustees of the Museum are:

> John E. Abbott Alfred H. Barr, Jr. Mrs. Robert Woods Bliss William A. M. Burden Stephen C. Clark Walt Disney Marshall Field Philip L. Goodwin A. Conger Goodyear Mrs. Simon Guggenheim Wallace K. Harrison James W. Husted Mrs. David M. Levy Sam A. Lewisohn

Henry R. Luce Ranald H. Macdonald David H. McAlpin Henry Allen Moe William S. Paley Mrs. E. B. Parkinson Mrs. Charles S. Payson Mrs. John D. Rockefeller, Jr. Beardsley Ruml James Thrall Soby Edward M. M. Warburg Mrs. George Henry Warren Monroe Wheeler

Refreshments will be served in the penthouse of the Museum and in the auditorium lobby. Arrangements for the reception were made through the Hospitality Committee of the United Nations Committee of the City of New York.