In conjunction with the exhibition Making Music Modern: Design for Ear and Eye, we explore the intersection of sight, sound, and touch. What do we mean when we refer to a genre of music as "smooth?" Why do we refer to a piece of music as having "texture" or "going against the grain?" What did punk feel like? And what is the phenomenon called “synesthesia?”

Engage in a hands-on project with various images, sounds, and textures as we consider the intentions of artists and musicians whose work engages our senses in multiple ways.

Join us for lively conversations and engaging activities, facilitated by Museum educators, that offer insightful and unusual ways to engage with collections and special exhibitions. Groups meet in the galleries noted on the schedule. Gallery Sessions are free for members and Museum admission ticket holders. No registration is required.

FM headsets for sound amplification are available for all talks.

  1. Saturday, December 12, 2015,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Exhibition Galleries
  2. Sunday, November 8, 2015,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Exhibition Galleries
  3. Saturday, October 31, 2015,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Exhibition Galleries
  4. Monday, September 28, 2015,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Exhibition Galleries
  5. Saturday, August 15, 2015,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Exhibition Galleries
  6. Saturday, July 11, 2015,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Exhibition Galleries
  7. Tuesday, April 14, 2015,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Exhibition Galleries
  8. Friday, March 20, 2015,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Exhibition Galleries
  9. Tuesday, February 24, 2015,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Exhibition Galleries
  10. Sunday, February 22, 2015,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Exhibition Galleries
  11. Tuesday, January 27, 2015,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Exhibition Galleries
    Canceled
  12. Thursday, January 8, 2015,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Exhibition Galleries
This event is part of Gallery Sessions.