What strategies have women and people of color used to overcome challenges and sustain long artistic careers in an art world that often privileges white men? Join us as we explore works by artists such as Lee Bontecou, Melvin Edwards, David Hammons, and Alma Thomas. This session meets at the entrance to The Long Run, Floor 4.

This session is led by Kerry Downey.

Join us for lively conversations and engaging activities, facilitated by Museum educators, that offer insightful and unusual ways to engage with collections and special exhibitions.

Groups meet in the galleries noted on the schedule. Gallery Sessions are free for members and Museum admission ticket holders. No registration is required.

FM headsets for sound amplification are available for all talks.

  1. Sunday, May 27,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 4
  2. Thursday, May 17,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 4
  3. Thursday, April 26,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 4
  4. Thursday, April 26,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 4
  5. Wednesday, April 18,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 4
  6. Wednesday, April 18,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 4
  7. Wednesday, April 4,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 4
  8. Tuesday, April 3,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 4
  9. Sunday, March 18,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 4
  10. Thursday, March 8,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 4
  11. Sunday, February 25,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 4
  12. Sunday, February 25,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 4
  13. Tuesday, February 20,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 4
  14. Tuesday, February 20,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 4
  15. Sunday, February 11,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 4
  16. Sunday, February 11,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 4
This event accompanies The Long Run.
This event is part of Gallery Sessions.