*Agora: Can Art Instigate Change?* Facilitated by Jennifer Gray. The Abby Aldrich Rockefeller Sculpture Garden, July 1, 2015. Photo: Manuel Martagon. © The Museum of Modern Art

In ancient Greece, the agora was an outdoor gathering place where students learned from philosophers who posed moral, social, cultural, and political questions. Our take on these open forums invites discussion about art and design in our world through a series of open-ended questions. Taking place in the People’s Studio and moderated by MoMA educators, this summer’s theme is "the city."

These events meet in the People’s Studio on Floor 3 and are free for members and Museum ticket holders. No registration is required.

  1. Wednesday, June 28,
    3:004:00 p.m.

    Floor 3
    The Museum of Modern Art
    Topic: Can Cities Save the World? With educator Petra Pankow
    Free with Museum admission
  2. Wednesday, July 5,
    3:004:00 p.m.

    Floor 3
    The Museum of Modern Art
    Topic: How Should Cities Support Community? With educator Jane Royal
    Free with Museum admission
  3. Wednesday, July 12,
    3:004:00 p.m.

    Floor 3
    The Museum of Modern Art
    Topic: How Do Artists Transform Cities? With educator Paula Stuttman
    Free with Museum admission
  4. Wednesday, July 19,
    3:004:00 p.m.

    Floor 3
    The Museum of Modern Art
    Topic: What Makes a City Livable? With educator Lauren Kaplan
    Free with Museum admission
  5. Wednesday, July 26,
    3:004:00 p.m.

    Floor 3
    The Museum of Modern Art
    Topic: Should We Live in Cities? With educator Diana Bush
    Free with Museum admission
  6. Wednesday, August 2,
    3:004:00 p.m.

    Floor 3
    The Museum of Modern Art
    Topic: Are We Defined by Where We Live? With educator Petra Pankow
    Free with Museum admission
  7. Wednesday, July 20, 2016,
    3:00 p.m.

    Sculpture Garden
    The Museum of Modern Art
    Topic: Will Everyone Be an Artist? With guest artist Saya Woolfalk
  8. Wednesday, July 13, 2016,
    3:00 p.m.

    Sculpture Garden
    The Museum of Modern Art
    Topic: How Will Art Survive Us? With guest artist Tal Beery
  9. Wednesday, July 6, 2016,
    3:00 p.m.

    Sculpture Garden
    The Museum of Modern Art
    Topic: How Will Art Solve Problems? With guest artist Kameelah Janan Rasheed
  10. Wednesday, June 29, 2016,
    3:00 p.m.

    Sculpture Garden
    The Museum of Modern Art
    Topic: To Whom Will Art Belong? With guest artist Daniel Bejar
  11. Wednesday, July 29, 2015,
    3:00 p.m.

    Sculpture Garden
    The Museum of Modern Art
    Topic: Populism: Who Is Art For?
  12. Wednesday, July 22, 2015,
    3:00 p.m.

    Sculpture Garden
    The Museum of Modern Art
    Topic: Technology: I Am Here. Where Are You?
  13. Wednesday, July 15, 2015,
    3:00 p.m.

    Sculpture Garden
    The Museum of Modern Art
    Topic: The Object: What Is Art You Can’t See?
  14. Wednesday, July 8, 2015,
    3:00 p.m.

    Sculpture Garden
    The Museum of Modern Art
    Topic: Value: What Is Art Worth?
  15. Wednesday, July 1, 2015,
    3:00 p.m.

    Sculpture Garden
    The Museum of Modern Art
    Topic: Revolution: Can Art Instigate Change?
  16. Monday, July 28, 2014,
    3:00 p.m.

    Sculpture Garden
    The Museum of Modern Art
  17. Monday, July 21, 2014,
    3:00 p.m.

    Sculpture Garden
    The Museum of Modern Art
  18. Monday, July 14, 2014,
    3:00 p.m.

    Sculpture Garden
    The Museum of Modern Art
  19. Monday, July 7, 2014,
    3:00 p.m.

    Sculpture Garden
    The Museum of Modern Art
This event is part of Agora.