Explore how nontraditional materials and processes shaped postwar American art, from Jackson Pollock to Barnett Newman.

This session is led by Petra Pankow.

Join us for lively conversations and engaging activities, facilitated by Museum educators, that offer insightful and unusual ways to engage with collections and special exhibitions.

Groups meet in the galleries noted on the schedule. Gallery Sessions are free for members and Museum admission ticket holders. No registration is required.

FM headsets for sound amplification are available for all talks.

  1. Sunday, May 28,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 12
    The Museum of Modern Art
    Free with Museum admission
  2. Sunday, June 11,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 12
    The Museum of Modern Art
    Free with Museum admission
  3. Wednesday, May 10,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 12
    The Museum of Modern Art
  4. Sunday, April 30,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 12
    The Museum of Modern Art
  5. Sunday, March 19,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 12
    The Museum of Modern Art
  6. Sunday, March 19,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 12
    The Museum of Modern Art
  7. Sunday, February 26,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 12
    The Museum of Modern Art
  8. Saturday, February 11,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 12
    The Museum of Modern Art
  9. Sunday, November 20, 2016,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 12
    The Museum of Modern Art
  10. Sunday, October 16, 2016,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 12
    The Museum of Modern Art
  11. Thursday, October 6, 2016,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 12
    The Museum of Modern Art
  12. Saturday, September 24, 2016,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 12
    The Museum of Modern Art
  13. Monday, August 22, 2016,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 12
    The Museum of Modern Art
    Canceled
  14. Saturday, August 20, 2016,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 12
    The Museum of Modern Art
  15. Sunday, July 10, 2016,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 12
    The Museum of Modern Art
  16. Sunday, June 19, 2016,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 12
    The Museum of Modern Art
  17. Tuesday, June 14, 2016,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 12
    The Museum of Modern Art
  18. Sunday, April 24, 2016,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 12
    The Museum of Modern Art
  19. Saturday, March 26, 2016,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 12
    The Museum of Modern Art
  20. Saturday, March 12, 2016,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 12
    The Museum of Modern Art
  21. Saturday, June 20, 2015,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Collection Galleries, Gallery 19
    The Museum of Modern Art
  22. Saturday, June 6, 2015,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Collection Galleries, Gallery 19
    The Museum of Modern Art
  23. Saturday, May 30, 2015,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Collection Galleries, Gallery 16
    The Museum of Modern Art
  24. Saturday, March 14, 2015,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Collection Galleries, Gallery 16
    The Museum of Modern Art
  25. Saturday, February 28, 2015,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Collection Galleries, Gallery 19
    The Museum of Modern Art
  26. Thursday, February 26, 2015,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 4, Collection Galleries, Gallery 19
    The Museum of Modern Art
  27. Saturday, February 14, 2015,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Collection Galleries, Gallery 19
    The Museum of Modern Art
  28. Sunday, January 18, 2015,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 4, Collection Galleries, Gallery 19
    The Museum of Modern Art
  29. Saturday, January 10, 2015,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Collection Galleries, Gallery 19
    The Museum of Modern Art
  30. Friday, January 2, 2015,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 4, Collection Galleries, Gallery 19
    The Museum of Modern Art
  31. Tuesday, December 30, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Collection Galleries, Gallery 19
    The Museum of Modern Art
  32. Monday, December 15, 2014,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 4, Collection Galleries, Gallery 19
    The Museum of Modern Art
  33. Sunday, December 7, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Collection Galleries, Gallery 19
    The Museum of Modern Art
  34. Saturday, November 8, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Collection Galleries, Gallery 19
    The Museum of Modern Art
  35. Sunday, September 14, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Collection Galleries, Gallery 16
    The Museum of Modern Art
  36. Friday, August 15, 2014,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 4, Collection Galleries, Gallery 16
    The Museum of Modern Art
  37. Tuesday, July 22, 2014,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 4, Collection Galleries, Gallery 16
    The Museum of Modern Art
This event is part of Gallery Sessions.