Most people have heard the name Marcel Duchamp. Some may even have a sense of his association with the founding of the Dada movement and his impact on modern art. But what exactly did his work mean to other artists? In this session we will explore Duchamp's important influence on artists such as Robert Rauschenberg, Lynda Benglis (who is responsible for that title quote), and others.

This session is led by Jane Royal.

Join us for lively conversations and engaging activities, facilitated by Museum educators, that offer insightful and unusual ways to engage with collections and special exhibitions.

Groups meet in the galleries noted on the schedule. Gallery Sessions are free for members and Museum admission ticket holders. No registration is required.

FM headsets for sound amplification are available for all talks.

  1. Saturday, October 7,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 5
  2. Saturday, September 16,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 5
  3. Sunday, September 10,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 5
  4. Monday, August 21,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 5
  5. Sunday, June 25,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 5
  6. Saturday, June 3,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 5
  7. Sunday, May 21,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 5
  8. Monday, April 24,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 5
  9. Monday, April 3,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 5
  10. Wednesday, March 15,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 5
  11. Sunday, February 12,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 5
  12. Sunday, February 5,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 5
  13. Saturday, December 17, 2016,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 5
  14. Thursday, December 1, 2016,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 5
  15. Monday, November 7, 2016,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 5
This event is part of Gallery Sessions.