For thousands of years sculptures were created using time-honored techniques and materials. However, beginning in the late 19th century, artists began to redefine the boundaries of three-dimensional sculptural forms and to experiment with new materials and techniques to create them. We will explore and discuss this shift in both the creation and the conceptual underpinnings of three-dimensional sculptural art, focusing on the work of Medardo Rosso, Henri Matisse, Robert Rauschenberg, Lee Bontecou, and others. This session meets at the entrance of Gallery 1, Floor 5.

This session is led by Jane Royal.

Join us for lively conversations and engaging activities, facilitated by Museum educators, that offer insightful and unusual ways to engage with collections and special exhibitions.

Groups meet in the galleries noted on the schedule. Gallery Sessions are free for members and Museum admission ticket holders. No registration is required.

FM headsets for sound amplification are available for all talks.

  1. Monday, September 3,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  2. Sunday, August 26,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  3. Thursday, June 21,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  4. Monday, June 11,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  5. Monday, April 30,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  6. Monday, April 23,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  7. Wednesday, March 28,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  8. Sunday, February 4,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  9. Wednesday, January 17,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  10. Monday, November 27, 2017,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  11. Friday, November 24, 2017,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  12. Saturday, October 7, 2017,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  13. Monday, October 2, 2017,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  14. Friday, September 15, 2017,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  15. Friday, August 25, 2017,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  16. Wednesday, August 23, 2017,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  17. Saturday, July 29, 2017,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  18. Thursday, June 29, 2017,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  19. Saturday, June 24, 2017,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  20. Saturday, May 27, 2017,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  21. Wednesday, March 15, 2017,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  22. Sunday, February 12, 2017,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  23. Sunday, February 5, 2017,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  24. Sunday, December 18, 2016,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  25. Thursday, October 13, 2016,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  26. Monday, September 5, 2016,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  27. Friday, September 2, 2016,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  28. Monday, August 29, 2016,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  29. Wednesday, August 17, 2016,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
This event is part of Gallery Sessions.