Can artists be taken at their word? Join us as we attempt to answer this question by exploring the work of three modern masters: Henri Matisse, Umberto Boccioni, and Vasily Kandinsky. These painters wrote cogently about their work, but did they always say what they meant? Through close looking and reading, we’ll evaluate the extent to which their words match up with their images.

This session is led by Lauren Kaplan.

Join us for lively conversations and engaging activities, facilitated by Museum educators, that offer insightful and unusual ways to engage with collections and special exhibitions.

Groups meet in the galleries noted on the schedule. Gallery Sessions are free for members and Museum admission ticket holders. No registration is required.

FM headsets for sound amplification are available for all talks.

  1. Monday, November 6,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 3
  2. Tuesday, October 17,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 3
  3. Sunday, October 15,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 3
  4. Tuesday, September 19,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 3
  5. Thursday, May 18,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 3
  6. Thursday, April 27,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 3
  7. Thursday, November 3, 2016,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 3
  8. Thursday, October 27, 2016,
    1:30 p.m.

    With Lauren Kaplan
    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 3
  9. Thursday, September 22, 2016,
    1:30 p.m.

    With Lauren Kaplan
    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 3
  10. Saturday, August 27, 2016,
    11:30 a.m.

    With Lauren Kaplan
    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 3
  11. Thursday, July 28, 2016,
    11:30 a.m.

    With Lauren Kaplan
    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 3
  12. Sunday, April 17, 2016,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 3
  13. Saturday, April 9, 2016,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 3
  14. Monday, April 4, 2016,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Collection Galleries, Gallery 3
This event is part of Gallery Sessions.