By breaking with the longstanding tenets and traditions of the Académie des Beaux-Arts, “modern” artists like Paul Cézanne, Claude Monet, and others fundamentally changed the manner in which art was created and viewed in the 19th century. But there was more than just a rebellious streak behind their radical approach to art making. Join us to consider some of the inspirations and technological advances that influenced these artists and allowed them to break with tradition. This session meets at the entrance of Gallery 1, Floor 5.

This session is led by Jane Royal.

Join us for lively conversations and engaging activities, facilitated by Museum educators, that offer insightful and unusual ways to engage with collections and special exhibitions.

Groups meet in the galleries noted on the schedule. Gallery Sessions are free for members and Museum admission ticket holders. No registration is required.

FM headsets for sound amplification are available for all talks.

  1. Friday, September 28,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
    Free with Museum admission
  2. Friday, September 14,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  3. Friday, September 7,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  4. Monday, September 3,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  5. Sunday, September 2,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  6. Wednesday, August 22,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  7. Wednesday, August 1,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  8. Monday, July 30,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  9. Saturday, July 28,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  10. Tuesday, July 24,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  11. Thursday, June 28,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  12. Sunday, June 17,
    1:30 p.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
  13. Friday, June 1,
    11:30 a.m.

    The Museum of Modern Art, Floor 5, Collection Galleries
This event is part of Gallery Sessions.