New Directors/New Films

March 21–April 1, 2007

Download the New Directors/New Films brochure in PDF format (Adobe Acrobat Reader required).

Visit the blog

View related film screenings

Now in its thirty-sixth year, the renowned New Directors/New Films festival, presented jointly by The Film Society of Lincoln Center and The Museum of Modern Art, introduces New York audiences to the work of emerging or not-yet-established filmmakers from around the world. All of the films in New Directors/New Films are having either their New York, U.S., or North American premieres, and many of the screenings are introduced by the filmmakers. This year the festival takes place at both the Walter Reade Theater at Lincoln Center and The Roy and Niuta Titus Theater 1 at The Museum of Modern Art, where the festival opens on March 21.

Films selected for the 2007 edition include Andrea Arnold's Red Road (Great Britain/Denmark), Paul Auster's The Inner Life of Martin Frost (Portugal/USA), Peter Schønau Fog's The Art of Crying (Denmark), Jean-Pascal Hattu's 7 Years (France), and Julia Loktev's Day Night Day Night (USA). Visit www.filmlinc.com for screening details and film notes. A schedule is also available in MoMA's main and theater lobbies, and in the lobby of the Walter Reade Theater at Lincoln Center.

Tickets for all New Directors/New Films screenings are available at the Walter Reade Theater and Alice Tully Hall box offices, online at filmlinc.com (plus a $1.25 service charge per ticket), and by phone at CENTERCHARGE, (212) 721-6500 (plus a $5.50 handling charge per ticket). Tickets for MoMA screenings are also available at MoMA's Film desk. Ticket prices are $12 for the general public, $10 for Film Society and MoMA members. Series tickets (ten or more different films) are $10 for the general public and $8 for members and will only be sold by mail order through the Alice Tully box office. HBO Films Roundtable tickets are $10 for the general public and $6 for Film Society and MoMA members.

New Directors/New Films is organized by a selection committee comprising Sally Berger, Assistant Curator, Jytte Jensen, Curator, and Laurence Kardish, Senior Curator, Department of Film, The Museum of Modern Art; and Marian Masone, Associate Director of Programming, Joanna Ney, Producer, Special Projects, and Richard Peña, Program Director, The Film Society of Lincoln Center.

Sponsored by Stella Artois and HBO Films. The festival is made possible through the generosity of the Irene Diamond Fund. Additional support is provided by the National Endowment for the Arts, The Junior Associates of The Museum of Modern Art, and public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts, a State Agency.