• When the Levees Broke: A Requiem in Four Acts

    2006. USA. Spike Lee. 225 min.

Parts 1 and 2 (approx. 128 min.)

Friday, September 12, 2008, 7:00 p.m.

Theater 2 (The Roy and Niuta Titus Theater 2), T2

  • When the Levees Broke: A Requiem in Four Acts

    2006. USA. Directed by Spike Lee. Music by Terence Blanchard. Blanchard's brilliant score, at once elegiac and fierce, helps us to fathom the tragic devastation of New Orleans—the very city that gave birth to jazz. The composer and saxophonist, who grew up in the Ninth Ward and whose childhood home suffered significant damage, would later recall, "When you see those dead bodies floating around the city, those are places that I know, that I frequent. It's just surreal. I'm used to seeing images like that in a war zone, not in my neighborhood. It was very hard to restrain myself. The music had to be that intangible groove that keeps you in the story, in the drama of what's going on, but not push it over the top. I didn't want to manipulate people's emotions." 225 min.

In conjunction with the exhibition Jazz Score

In the Film exhibition Jazz Score

Ticketing policies for film screenings

Sign up for now to receive MoMA's biweekly Film E-News