Yasunao Tone. <i>Anagram for Strings</i>. 1961 (Fluxus Edition released 1963). Score. Master for the Fluxus Edition, typed and drawn by George Maciunas, New York. Ink and typewriting on transparentized paper, 8 1/4 x 11 11/16 (21 x 29.6 cm)

Tokyo: Experiments in Music and Performance

Thursday, January 10, 2013, 6:00 p.m.

Theater 3 (The Celeste Bartos Theater), mezzanine, The Lewis B. and Dorothy Cullman Education and Research Building

Related Publication


Tokyo 1955-1970: A New Avant-Garde
Doryun Chong, with essays by Michio Hayashi, Miryam Sas, and Mika Yoshitake

More info at MoMAstore.org »
Add Hardcover to cart ($55.00 / $49.50 Members) »

This music program, showcasing experimental musical performances that took place in Tokyo in the 1960s, features musician Tone Yasunao, an experimental musician and sound artist who has played an important role in experimental music and art scenes in Tokyo and New York since the 1960s. The program features Tone’s graphic scores from MoMA’s Gilbert and Lila Silverman Fluxus Collection and from Tone’s personal collection. Explore live experimental performances that combine film, sound, and improvised music, including one using a manipulated film projector. Then watch the event culminate in Fluxus-based events and actions, including the destruction of a piano.

Related Events:
Art in Tokyo, 1950s and 1960s: Conversations and Films
Book Launch: From Postwar to Postmodern, Art in Japan 1945–1989: Primary Documents

In conjunction with the exhibition Tokyo 1955–1970: A New Avant-Garde

Tickets ($10, $8 members and corporate members, $5 students, seniors and staff of other museums) can be purchased online or at the information desk in the main lobby, the film desk, or in the Education and Research Building lobby on the evening of the program.