THE MUSEUM OF MODERN ART 11 WEST 53RD STREET, NEW YORK

TELEPHONE: CIRCLE 7-7470

FOR RELEASE Wednesday, Nov.20

The Museum of Modern Art. New York, announces a Poster Competition to be held in cities throughout the country where the Museum's Membership Committee has local chairmen. The competition is open to artists and students of art in public schools, high schools and art schools outside of New York City in the localities centering about these cities. Posters must be in the hands of each local chairman not later than February 1, 1936, for judging by a committee appointed by the chairman. The committee will select the two best posters entered locally to be forwarded to the Museum in New York, where the final judging will take place. The prize is one hundred dollars.

Modern Art, New York, but the design is left to the artist who should bear in mind, however, that the Museum is specifically devoted to the creative arts of our own time including painting, sculpture, photography, architecture, industrial design, the motion picture, theatre arts, etc. The winning poster may be used for general distribution throughout the United States to further acquaint people with the aims of the Museum of Modern Art, which was established six years ago for the purpose of developing the study of the visual arts of today and their application to contemporary life.

Artists and art students living in or near each of the cities listed below may-obtain from the Membership Chairman of their city specifications and general instructions for entrance into the Museum of Modern Art Poster Competition.

BUFFALO, N.Y. -- Mrs. Thomas Robbins, Jr., Chairman; Harold Olmsted, Urquhart Wilcox, Harry W. Jacobs.

CAMBRIDGE, MASS .-- Mrs. Robert Hillyer, Chairman.

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS-Mrs. Charles B. Goodspeed, Chairman.

CINCINNATI, OHIO---Mrs. William J. R. Alexander, Chairman.

CLEVELAND, OHIO--Mrs. Malcolm L. McBride, Chairman; Henry Sayles Francis, Alfred Howell, Glenn M. Shaw, Henry Hunt Clark.

DETROIT, MICHIGAN—Mrs. Ernest Kanzler, Chairman; Mrs. Dwight
Douglas, Mrs. Edsel Ford, Mrs. Julius
Haass, Mrs. H. Lee Simpson, Miss Louise
Greer, Miss Edith Ferry, David Hamilton,
John Newberry, Jr., Robert H. Tannahill,
Dr. William Valentiner.

- HARTFORD, CONN. -- Mrs. Francis Goodwin, Chairman; A. Everett Austin, Jr., Winslow Ames.
- HOUSTON, TEX. -- Mrs. George A. Hill, Jr.
- LOUISVILLE, KY .-- Mrs. Marshall Bullitt, Chairman; Mrs. Arthur Allen, Mrs. Robert Burgess, Miss Fayette Barnum, Morris Belknap.
- MINNEAPOLIS, MINN. -- Mrs. F. P. Hefflefinger, Chairman; Mrs. Angus Morrison, Mrs. J. C. Wyman, Mrs. Ruth Lawrence, Mrs. Bess Mather, Miss Mary Atkinson, Mrs. Robert Pasky, David M. Robb, Cameron Booth.
- NEW HAVEN, CONN. --- Mrs. Henry H. Townshend, Chairman.
- PALM BEACH, FLA. -- Mrs. Charles Harrington Chadwick, Chairman.
- PITTSBURGH, PA. -- Miss Pinky Bell, Chairman; Mrs. George L. Craig, Jr., Miss Bertha Brooks, Mrs. R. Green Annan, Mrs. Alexander L. Robinson, Mrs. Alan M. Scaife, Mrs. Blair Childs, Mrs. McCook Reed.
- PORTLAND, ME. -- Walter G. Davis, Chairman; Miss Harriet Thompson, Alexander Bower.
- PRINCETON, N.J. -- Mrs. William K. Prentice, Chairman; Professor Devald, Professor George Rowley.
- PROVIDENCE, R.I.—Mrs. Charles A. Robinson, Jr., Chairman;
 Professor Will S. Taylor, Dr. Royal B.
 Farnum, Mrs. Erik H. Green.
 ROCHESTER, R.I.—Mrs. Francis Cunningham, Chairman.
- SAN FRANCISCO, CAL. --- Mrs. John Bakewell, Chairman.
- SANTA FE, NEW MEXICO -- Miss Olive Rush, Chairman; Mrs. Jesse Nusbaum, Miss Dorothy Stewart, Mrs. J. O. Seth, John Weem.
- SAVANNAH, GA. -- Mrs. Wymberley De Renne, Chairman; Miss Hattie Saussy, Miss Lila Cabaniss, Mrs. Mills B. Lane.
- ST. LOUIS, MO. -- Mrs. Clifford W. Gaylord, Chairman.
- ST. PAUL, MINN. -- Miss Alice O'Brien, Chairman.
- SYRACUSE, N.Y.--Mrs. Montague Charman, Chairman; Miss Matilda Miett, Professor C. T. Hawley.
- UTICA, N.Y.--Mrs. Harold Symonds, Chairman; Miss Laura Sheldon, C. Roy Newkirk, Lee Jeffries, A. II.
 Isenberg, Mrs. Earl Dunmore, Mrs. Walter C. Gibson, Mrs. Earl Swain, Mrs. Thomas Rudd, Miss Abigail Dimon.
- WASHINGTON, D.C. -- Mrs. McCook Knox, Chairman.
- WATERBURY, CONN. -- Miss Elizabeth Wade White, Chairman; Mrs. Frederick S. Chase, Mrs. Roger S. Sperry, Mrs. Elton S. Wayland, Mrs. Rowley W. Phillips, Mrs. Donald S. Tuttle, Mrs. Edwin C. Northrop, Rodney Chase, Rawson W. Haddon.
- WORCESTER, MASS. -- Miss Louisa Dresser, Chairman; Miss Charlotte H. Scott, Leo T. Doherty.