THE MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

11 WEST 53 STREET, NEW YORK 19, N. Y.

TELEPHONE: CIRCLE 5-8900

511220-78

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

PRIZES AWARDED AT THE FIRST BIENNIAL EXHIBITION AT SAO PAULO, BRAZIL

A listing of the selections of the award jury at the Sao Paulo Biennial, made on October 18, 1951, has just reached this country. In addition to 12 prizes awarded to Brazilian artists, 17 prizes were given to artists from 6 foreign countries: 8 from Italy, 3 from France, 2 each from Germany and England, 1 from Switzerland and 1 from the U.S. Theodore Roszak, American sculptor, won second prize - a purchase prize - for his "Young Fury," for which he received 50,000 Cruzeiros (about \$2,700). This work, as well as the other purchase prizes, will be added to the collection of the Museum of Modern Art in Sao Paulo.

Following is the list of the jury:

Lourival Gomes Machado, chairman (Brazilian)
Emile Langui (Belgian)
Eric Newton (English)
Jan Van As (Dutch)
Jacques Lassaigne (French)
Jorge Romero Brest (Argentinian)
Marco Valsecchi (Italian)
Rene d'Harnoncourt (U.S.)
Wolfgang Pfeiffer (German)
Sergio Milliet (Brazil)
Tomas Santa Rosa, Jr. (Brazil)

Foreigners winning prizes were as follows:

Painting:

Roger Chastel, French	100,000 Cruzeiros Cruzeiro is worth	(Note: the about 5½ ¢)
Alberto Magnelli, Italian Willi Baumeister, German Edouard Pignon, French	50,000 Cr. 30,000 Cr. 25,000 Cr.	

Sculpture:

Max Bill, Swiss		100,000	Cr.
T. Roszak, U.S.		50,000	Cr.
Germaine Richier,	French	30,000	Cr.
Luciano Minguzzi,	Italian	10,000	Cr.

Engravings:

Giusepe Viviani, Italian	30,000	Cr.
Prunella Clough, English	10,000	Cr.
Robert Adams, English	5,000	Cr,
Arnoldo Giarrocchi, Italian	5,000	

Drawings:

Renzo Vespignani, Italian Hans Uhlman, German

10,000 Cr. 5,000 Cr.

Special Awards:

Pericle Fazzini, Italian Renato Birolli, Italian Afro, Italian

30,000 Cr. 30,000 Cr.

value of award to be announced

234

Brazilian artists receiving prizes were:

Painting: Danilo di Prete, Maria Leontina Franco Dacosta, Tarsila do Amaral, Heitor dos Prazeres, Ivan Ferreira Serpa.

Sculpture: Victor Brecheret, Bruno Giorgi, Mario Cravo, Jr.

Engravings: Oswaldo Goeldi, Marcelo Grasman, Geraldo de Barros

Drawings: Aldemir Martins

The jury decided not to give the two other national

awards for drawing.

Before announcing the awards, the jury made the following statement:

"The international jury of the Biennial pays homage to the great masters, foreign as well as Brazilian, whose generous participation contributed so much to the success of the first Biennial exhibition of Sao Paulo. It is hoped that future exhibitions will continue to give special honors to those who are now the pioneers of modern art. In the selection of awards the jury endeavored to select work representing sincere new efforts."

Following are the American artists represented in the Sao Paulo exhibition:

PAINTERS

Albright, Ivan
Baziotes, William
Bloom, Hyman
Blume, Peter
Burchfield, Charles
Davis, Stuart
Ernst, Max
Evergood, Philip
Feininger, Lyonel
Glarner, Fritz
Graves, Morris
Grosz, George
Hopper, Edward
de Kooning, Willem
Kuniyoshi, Yasuo
Lawrence, Jacob
Levine, Jack
MacIver, Loren
Marin, John
Marsh, Reginald
O'Keeffe, Georgia
Pereira, I. Rice
Pickens, Alton
Pollock, Jackson
Rothko, Mark
Shahn, Ben
Sheeler, Charles
Tanguy, Yves
Tchelitchew, Pavel
Tobey, Mark

Tomlin, Bradley Walker Weber, Max

PRINTMAKERS

Castellon, Federico
Dehn, Adolf
Fuller, Sue
Gwathmey, Robert
Kahn, Max
Kohn, Misch
Landeck, Armin
Lasansky, Mauricio
Margo, Boris
Schanker, Louis

SCULPTORS

Baizerman, Saul
Calder, Alexander
de Creeft, Jose
Ferber, Herbert
Gross, Chaim
Hare, David
Harkavy, Minna
Howard, Robert
Lipchitz, Jacques
Lippold, Richard
Maldarelli, Oronzio
Noguchi, Isamu
Roszak, Theodore
Robus, Hugo
Smith, David
Zorach, William