Through experimentation and discussion, explore Abstract Expressionism and the impact of its innovative studio practices on the traditional genre of easel painting.

Gallery Sessions, impromptu interactions facilitated by Museum educators that explore the creative process, art history, and the experience of art, take place daily in select galleries. Groups meet in the galleries noted on the schedule. Gallery Sessions are free with Museum admission. No registration is required.

FM headsets for sound amplification are available for all talks.

Learn more about Adult Programs

  1. Friday, February 12,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Painting and Sculpture I, Gallery 12

    Free with Museum admission

  2. Monday, January 4,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Painting and Sculpture I, Gallery 12

  3. Wednesday, December 30, 2015,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Painting and Sculpture I, Gallery 12

  4. Wednesday, December 9, 2015,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Painting and Sculpture I, Gallery 12

  5. Wednesday, December 10, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 16

  6. Friday, December 5, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 16

  7. Friday, November 14, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 16

  8. Saturday, November 1, 2014,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 16

  9. Sunday, October 19, 2014,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 16

  10. Tuesday, August 19, 2014,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 16

  11. Sunday, July 6, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 16

  12. Sunday, June 15, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 16

  13. Saturday, May 10, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 16

  14. Thursday, May 8, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 16

This event is part of Gallery Sessions.