Explore Abstract Expressionism’s innovative painting techniques and the impact of these studio practices on the traditional genre of easel painting. How did painting transform itself in the 1940s and 1950s in New York, and how did this transformation affect artists in the decades that followed?

Join us for lively conversations and engaging activities, facilitated by Museum educators, that offer insightful and unusual ways to engage with collections and special exhibitions.

Groups meet in the galleries noted on the schedule. Gallery Sessions are free for members and Museum admission ticket holders. No registration is required.

FM headsets for sound amplification are available for all talks.

Learn more about Adult Programs

  1. Monday, May 23,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Painting and Sculpture I, Gallery 12

  2. Friday, February 12,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Painting and Sculpture I, Gallery 12

  3. Monday, January 4,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Painting and Sculpture I, Gallery 12

  4. Wednesday, December 30, 2015,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 5, Painting and Sculpture I, Gallery 12

  5. Wednesday, December 9, 2015,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Painting and Sculpture I, Gallery 12

  6. Wednesday, December 10, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 16

  7. Friday, December 5, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 16

  8. Friday, November 14, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 16

  9. Saturday, November 1, 2014,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 16

  10. Sunday, October 19, 2014,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 16

  11. Tuesday, August 19, 2014,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 16

  12. Sunday, July 6, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 16

  13. Sunday, June 15, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 16

  14. Saturday, May 10, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 16

  15. Thursday, May 8, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 16

This event is part of Gallery Sessions.