The early 1940s in New York was the site of important interactions between European art and artists and the origins of what would later be termed “American-type” painting and sculpture. Through close looking and discussion, join us to explore several significant encounters between “pure psychic automatism,” dream imagery, abstraction, and the found object in American art around 1940.

Gallery Sessions, impromptu interactions facilitated by Museum educators that explore the creative process, art history, and the experience of art, take place daily in select galleries. Groups meet in the galleries noted on the schedule. Gallery Sessions are free with Museum admission. No registration is required.

FM headsets for sound amplification are available for all talks.

Learn more about Adult Programs

  1. Friday, February 19,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Painting and Sculpture I, Gallery 12

    Free with Museum admission

  2. Monday, January 4,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Painting and Sculpture I, Gallery 12

  3. Monday, July 6, 2015,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 15

  4. Tuesday, June 16, 2015,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 15

  5. Sunday, December 21, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 15

  6. Tuesday, December 9, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 15

  7. Saturday, November 1, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 15

  8. Sunday, October 19, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 15

  9. Wednesday, September 24, 2014,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 15

  10. Sunday, August 31, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 15

  11. Friday, August 29, 2014,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 15

  12. Saturday, July 26, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 15

This event is part of Gallery Sessions.