Jackson Pollock famously made One: Number 31 (1950) by placing the canvas on the floor, even though he intended the work be displayed with the canvas hung on the wall. In this session, we simulate Pollock’s working experience in an attempt to understand his revolutionary technique, and to see a Pollock the way Jackson Pollock did.

Join us for lively conversations and engaging activities, facilitated by Museum educators, that offer insightful and unusual ways to engage with collections and special exhibitions.

Groups meet in the galleries noted on the schedule. Gallery Sessions are free for members and Museum admission ticket holders. No registration is required.

FM headsets for sound amplification are available for all talks.

Learn more about Adult Programs

  1. Thursday, November 5, 2015,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Painting and Sculpture I, Gallery 12

  2. Thursday, October 22, 2015,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 5, Painting and Sculpture I, Gallery 12

  3. Tuesday, July 28, 2015,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 19

  4. Monday, June 22, 2015,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 19

  5. Tuesday, June 2, 2015,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 19

  6. Wednesday, April 29, 2015,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 19

  7. Wednesday, April 29, 2015,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 19

  8. Tuesday, January 20, 2015,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 19

  9. Wednesday, December 31, 2014,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 19

  10. Wednesday, December 17, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 19

  11. Wednesday, December 3, 2014,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 19

  12. Monday, November 24, 2014,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 19

  13. Tuesday, June 24, 2014,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 4, Painting and Sculpture II, Gallery 16

This event is part of Gallery Sessions.