Indirectly inspired by a seminal work by Francisco de Goya, in which the Spanish artist appears to be bedeviled by creatures that prowl in the dark, Jasper Johns created a suite of original works across diverse mediums, using Goya’s demons as a point of departure to investigate his own state of mind and creative process. Join us to look closely at Johns’s latest works, and investigate the commonalities in artists’ interests across historical periods.

Gallery Sessions, impromptu interactions facilitated by Museum educators that explore the creative process, art history, and the experience of art, take place daily in select galleries. Groups meet in the galleries noted on the schedule. Gallery Sessions are free with Museum admission. No registration is required.

Sign language–interpreted Gallery Sessions are held every fourth Sunday of the month at 1:30 p.m. FM headsets for sound amplification are available for all talks.

Join us for lively conversations and engaging activities, facilitated by Museum educators, that offer insightful and unusual ways to engage with collections and special exhibitions.

Groups meet in the galleries noted on the schedule. Gallery Sessions are free for members and Museum admission ticket holders. No registration is required.

FM headsets for sound amplification are available for all talks.

Learn more about Adult Programs

  1. Monday, August 18, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 3, Drawings Galleries

  2. Monday, August 11, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

  3. Tuesday, July 15, 2014,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 3, Drawings Galleries

  4. Sunday, July 13, 2014,
    1:30 p.m.

  5. Saturday, July 5, 2014,
    1:30 p.m.

    Floor 3, Drawings Galleries

  6. Friday, July 4, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 3, Drawings Galleries

  7. Friday, June 20, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 3, Drawings Galleries

  8. Saturday, June 14, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 3, Drawings Galleries

  9. Friday, June 6, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

    Floor 3, Drawings Galleries

  10. Tuesday, May 27, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

  11. Tuesday, May 20, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

  12. Saturday, May 17, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

  13. Monday, May 5, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

  14. Friday, May 2, 2014,
    11:30 a.m.

This event accompanies Jasper Johns: Regrets.
This event is part of Gallery Sessions.